Program: Virus • Install: 2 • Memory: 1 • Influence: 2

Install Parasite only on a rezzed piece of ice.

Host ice has -1 strength for each virus counter on Parasite and is trashed if its strength is 0 or less.

When your turn begins, place 1 virus counter on Parasite.

Anarch • Bruno Balixa • Core Set #12
Feb 08, 2014 w0nk0

Quick question from a newb:

Am I right in thinking that with Parasite + Datasucker tokens, I don't need any icebreakers to break-by-trashing ice that I can drag down to strength zero?

Also, if so, do "on encounter" effects of the ice, like Data Raven for example, trigger? Or can I trash the ICE during "on encounter" by moving Datasucker tokens on it?

Feb 11, 2014 Ber

You are correct - When you encounter an ice hosting a Parasite, if you use datasucker tokens on it to bring it down to 0 strength, it will be trashed immediately, without needing to break the subroutines, or have 'on encounter' effects trigger.

The reason 'on encounter' effects do not trigger is that happen in the same timing window as the datasucker power-down and trash ('on encounter'), and effects are resolved first for the player whose turn it is - and runs happen during the runners turn.

Apr 08, 2014 zogstrip

n00b question: what happens to the parasite (and its virus counters) when the host is trashed? Is it trashed too?

Apr 09, 2014 zogstrip

I should have read the rules more closely...


[...] If a host is trashed or uninstalled, all cards, counters and tokens hosted on it are also trashed. This cannot be prevented.

Jun 07, 2014 RS14

Ber: You are mistaken about the timing with "on encounter" effects. See the FAQ:

Can the Runner use Datasucker to reduce the strength of a piece of ice before an ability on that ice triggers when it is encountered (such as a Tollbooth)?

No. Tollbooth ends the run unless the Runner pays 3

Jun 20, 2014 iMarco

"On encounter" effects resolve before the runner uses any paid abilities.

You must be logged in to post comments.