Boomerang

Hardware • Install: 2 • Influence: 2

When you install this hardware, choose an installed piece of ice. Use this hardware only during encounters with that ice.

trash: Break up to 2 subroutines. When this run ends, if it is successful, you may shuffle a copy of Boomerang from your heap into your stack.

Return to sender.
Criminal • Elizaveta Sokolova • Uprising 75
All sets:
Links: Decklists | ANCUR
Boomerang
MWL Entries

No MWL Entries for this card.

Rulings
  • NISEI Uprising Release Notes [NISEI Rules Team]

    If the ice chosen for Boomerang is derezzed or moved, can Boomerang still be used?

    Yes. Boomerang can keep track of which piece of ice was chosen as long as both Boomerang and the ice remain installed.

    If the ice chosen for Boomerang is uninstalled and then reinstalled, can Boomerang still be used?

    No. Once a card is uninstalled, it is considered a new card. Boomerang cannot tell that ice installed later is the same piece of ice as it chose.

    If Boomerang is installed facedown and then turned faceup with Assimilator, does the Runner have to choose a piece of ice?

    No. The ice restriction is created as part of the "when installed" ability. Turning a card faceup does not change its installed status, so in this case the ability never meets its trigger condition and Boomerang can be used during any encounter.

    If Boomerang is used and the run is successful, but that Boomerang is not in the heap when the run ends, can the Runner shuffle another Boomerang from their heap into their stack?

    Yes. The phrase "a copy of Boomerang" refers to any card named Boomerang. The game does not distinguish between the copy used to create the ability and any other copy that might be in the heap.

    If Boomerang is used and the run is successful, and Doppelganger is used to make another run, when is Boomerang shuffled into the stack?

    Both Doppelganger's ability and the ability shuffling a Boomerang into the stack meet their trigger conditions at the same time. The Runner can trigger the Boomerang ability first and shuffle before making the second run. However, if the Runner triggers Doppelganger first, the entire additional run is resolved before returning to the reaction window where the Boomerang ability is pending, at which point the Runner is able to trigger that ability and shuffle a copy of Boomerang from their heap into their stack.

Reviews

Boomerang is a very interesting Icebreaker-alternative. It's too early for me to have done a full analysis on the new hardware, but it seems like a very useful tool in any deck that wants to run hardware and trash cans (so Az and Geist). It can outright let you walk through some of the most annoying ICE in the game for a mere 2 credits and an install. It doesn't matter if your surveyor has 30 strength--Boomerang breaks it for 2 .

[Edit in light of clarification on hardware uniqueness thanks to Mezuzi]

There is a bit of Corp counterplay though that Boomerang users should be wary of. It's unique, which means you can only have one installed at a time. If you use it to mark an unrezzed piece of ICE that the corp can afford to leave unrezzed (or even over-install the next turn) then your Boomerang just has to sit there, doing nothing until you spend another 2 , a card and a click to overinstall a new one. This now means that in total you've spent 2 (4 if you count each card draw as a click), 2 cards and 4 credits to bypass 1 piece of ICE -- definitely not a good deal, especially if it means some of your hardware/trash can triggers were delayed at the same time. The icing (ICEing?) on the cake is that it also can't recur itself, so the Runner is down 1 Boomerang in their deck. Of course, they probably have recursion somewhere that brings it back, but early on it might be an option to nab a scoring window.

I'm sure new ideas and better analysis will be discovered as time goes on, but for now I would say this is a strong and fun card to have to in the pool.

...if you're a Runner.

(Uprising era)
48

Both Corps and Runners are allowed to install multiple unique cards in general - it's just that older unique cards get trashed during the next checkpoint. Your friend might be misremembering the "Limit 1 console per player." rule that is written on consoles that would prevent the start of an install of another console.

@Mezuzi -- Thanks for the clarification! I've updated the review to reflect this.