Rulings

All cards with clarification and F.A.Q

Noise: Hacker Extraordinaire ( Core Set, 1)

  • Cards trashed by Noise’s ability are placed facedown in Archives. [Official FAQ]

Demolition Run ( Core Set, 3)

  • The Runner can trash an agenda accessed with Demolition Run, instead of stealing it. [Official FAQ]

Djinn ( Core Set, 9)

  • When the Runner installs a program, they have the choice of installing it directly into their rig or on Djinn. Thy cannot move programs onto Djinn at a later point. [Official FAQ]

  • The Runner cannot move other installed programs to Djinn when it is installed. [Official FAQ]

Medium ( Core Set, 10)

  • Before accessing cards from R&D at step 4.5 of a run, the Runner chooses how many cards they want to access when using Medium. [Official FAQ]

Parasite ( Core Set, 12)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

  • If a piece of ice hosting Parasite is derezzed, the Parasite continues to collect virus tokens, but the hosting ice has no strength while derezzed and therefore cannot be trashed by Parasite unless it is rezzed again. [Official FAQ]

  • Parasite cannot be hosted on Djinn [or any other Daemon program]. A card or counter can only be hosted in one place at a time, and Parasite has the restriction that it must be installed on a piece of ice. [Official FAQ]

Wyrm ( Core Set, 13)

  • The Runner can only use Wyrm to lower the strength of a currently encountered piece of ice, and only if Wyrm is of equal or higher strength than that ice. [Official FAQ]

Yog.0 ( Core Set, 14)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

Wyldside ( Core Set, 16)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

Account Siphon ( Core Set, 18)

  • If the Runner ends up running successfully on another server than HQ, the “If successful...” effect on Account Siphon cannot be triggered. [Official FAQ]

  • The Runner can choose to not use the ability on Account Siphon when accessing cards, and if so does not take any tags. [Official FAQ]

Forged Activation Orders ( Core Set, 20)

  • The Corp cannot rez Akitaro Watanabe in response to a Forged Activation Orders being played. The effect of Forged Activation Orders is immediately resolved unless prevented or avoided. [Official FAQ]

Femme Fatale ( Core Set, 26)

  • If Femme Fatale is uninstalled, the Runner cannot bypass the ice chosen by the Femme Fatale when it was installed; the ability is no longer active since the card is no longer active. Even if that copy of Femme Fatale is re-installed, it is treated as a ‘new’ copy and cannot bypass anything other than the ice chosen when it was just installed. [Official FAQ]

  • The Runner can spend the credit from Cyberfeeder to pay for the bypass ability. [Official FAQ]

  • Femme Fatale does not need to match the strength of a piece of ice in order to bypass it. [Official FAQ]

Sneakdoor Beta ( Core Set, 28)

  • If Sneakdoor Beta is trashed during a run it initiated, the run is still treated as a run on HQ if it is successful. [Official FAQ]

Bank Job ( Core Set, 29)

  • The Runner can take credits from Bank Job if they made a successful run on an empty server. [Official FAQ]

Net Shield ( Core Set, 45)

  • Multiple Net Shields cannot prevent more damage. [Official FAQ]

  • Net Shield can prevent a single point of net damage each turn. It does not prevent all net damage from a single source. [Official FAQ]

Aesop's Pawnshop ( Core Set, 47)

  • Aesop’s Pawnshop can only trash a single card each turn. [Official FAQ]

Aggressive Secretary ( Core Set, 57)

  • The Corporation cannot choose to trash the same program more than once. [Official FAQ]

  • The programs are trashed at the same time. [Official FAQ]

Chum ( Core Set, 75)

  • Chum deals its net damage the first time either of the following occur during an encounter with the next piece of ice:

    1) step 3.1 of a run closes and there is an unbroken subroutine on the piece of ice.

    2) step 3.1 of a run was skipped or did not resolve because the encounter/run ends (if 3.1 does not happen, no subroutines can be broken). This applies even if the piece of ice has 0 subroutines. [Official FAQ]

  • If the Runner jacks out immediately after encountering a Chum and not breaking its subroutine, the Runner does not take any damage. [Official FAQ]

Breaking News ( Core Set, 82)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

Tollbooth ( Core Set, 90)

  • The Runner must pay 3 if they are able to do so, even by spending temporary credits (such as bad publicity credits). [Official FAQ]

  • If the Runner cannot pay 3 when encountering Tollbooth, then the run ends without the Runner paying any credits. [Official FAQ]

Red Herrings ( Core Set, 91)

  • If the Runner accesses an agenda from R&D and does not pay the additional cost to steal it, they do not reveal it to the Corp. [Official FAQ]

Aggressive Negotiation ( Core Set, 97)

  • Aggressive Negotiation can be played if the Corp scores an agenda during step 1.1 of their draw phase. [Official FAQ]

Archer ( Core Set, 101)

  • If the Corp has an over advanced Braintrust scored and rezzes Archer, forfeiting Braintrust, Archer gains the discounted rez cost. [Official FAQ]

Mandatory Upgrades ( What Lies Ahead, 11)

  • If Mandatory Upgrades is forfeited, the Corp loses the additional click immediately. The Corp cannot choose to spend the additional click before the forfeit, except as part of his last action (at which point it has already been spent, and there is nothing left for the Corp to lose). Each player spends clicks from a pool of available clicks, and does not spend each click individually. [Official FAQ]

TMI ( What Lies Ahead, 17)

  • TMI can be rezzed multiple times while the Runner approaches it. Timing structure of a run 2.3 is a window that allows the approached piece of ice to be rezzed. There is no limit to the number of times a Corp can rez an approached piece of ice if it is derezzed during this window. [Official FAQ]

e3 Feedback Implants ( Trace Amount, 24)

  • If multiple subroutines are broken at the same time, e3 Feedback Implants triggers once for each subroutine. [Official FAQ]

  • e3 Feedback Implants triggers itself, so the Runner can break all subroutines on a bioroid ice by paying credits after spending a single click. [Official FAQ]

Fetal AI ( Trace Amount, 32)

  • The Runner must pay the 2 to steal Fetal AI from Archives. [Official FAQ]

Trick of Light ( Trace Amount, 33)

  • Trick of Light can only be used to move advancement tokens from an installed card to another installed card. [Official FAQ]

Sensei ( Trace Amount, 34)

  • Sensei only adds a single “End the run.” subroutine after all of the other subroutines on the next piece of ice, not a subroutine after each subroutine on the ice. [Official FAQ]

Nerve Agent ( Cyber Exodus, 41)

  • Before accessing cards from HQ at step 4.5 of a run, the Runner chooses how many cards they want to access when using Nerve Agent. [Official FAQ]

Snitch ( Cyber Exodus, 45)

  • If the expose effect is prevented, the Runner can still jack out. [Official FAQ]

  • If the outermost piece of ice on a server is unrezzed, the Runner can use Snitch to look at it and then decide to jack out before encountering it. [Official FAQ]

Dinosaurus ( Cyber Exodus, 48)

  • If the Runner has no free MU but a Dinosaurus that is not currently hosting an icebreaker, he can install an icebreaker on Dinosaurus without trashing a program. Declaring where a program is hosted is part of the install action, and so the memory cost of the program does not need to be taken into account. [Official FAQ]

  • If there is an icebreaker already installed on Dinosaurus, the Runner can install a different icebreaker onto Dinosaurus, trashing the previously installed icebreaker. [Official FAQ]

Personal Workshop ( Cyber Exodus, 49)

  • If Personal Workshop is uninstalled, all cards hosted on it are trashed and all counters on those cards are removed. [Official FAQ]

  • When there are no power counters on a program or a piece of hardware that has a play restriction on it that cannot be met (such as a Parasite with no rezzed ice to be hosted on or a console when there is already a console installed), that program or piece of hardware is trashed instead of being installed. [Official FAQ]

  • The Runner can pay to remove a power counter from a card hosted on Personal Workshop as a paid ability. A program installed from Personal Workshop follows all the normal install rules; the Runner must trash already installed programs to make room for the new one, if necessary. [Official FAQ]

  • The Runner may use the first ability on Personal Workshop to host a program or a piece of hardware on it. Cards hosted by this ability are not installed, and therefore are inactive. [Official FAQ]

Sunset ( Cyber Exodus, 54)

  • When resolving Sunset, the ice must be rearranged in such a way that the Runner knows which pieces of ice moved where. The Corp cannot conceal the rearrangement of the ice. [Official FAQ]

Disrupter ( A Study in Static, 61)

  • Disrupter cannot be used once the Corp has bid during a trace attempt. It must be used when the trace is being initiated, and it prevents the entire trace before re-initiating it with a base trace strength of 0. [Official FAQ]

Oversight AI ( A Study in Static, 79)

  • Oversight AI is trashed to the Archives if the host ice is uninstalled. [Official FAQ]

  • Oversight AI is treated as a condition counter, and is no longer an operation, while it is active. [Official FAQ]

  • Playing Oversight AI does not give Haas-Bioroid: Engineering the Future 1 for an install. [Official FAQ]

False Lead ( A Study in Static, 80)

  • The Corp can forfeit 2 copies of False Lead at 1.1 to force the Runner to lose 4 clicks. The turn advances to the Runner’s discard phase after 1.2 resolves and the Runner has no clicks. [Official FAQ]

  • False Lead cannot be forfeited unless the Runner can lose 2 clicks. [Official FAQ]

Andromeda: Dispossessed Ristie ( Humanity's Shadow, 83)

  • When the Runner mulligans with Andromeda, they draw another starting hand of 9 cards. [Official FAQ]

Midori ( Future Proof, 113)

  • Ice installed with Midori can be rezzed with the Amazon Industrial Zone. [Official FAQ]

  • Midori must already be rezzed before the run in order to use her on the first piece of ice protecting the server. [Official FAQ]

  • If the Runner exposes an ice with Snitch, Midori can still swap the ice unless the Runner jacks out with Snitch. [Official FAQ]

  • Ice that is swapped is installed, but the install cost of the ice being swapped does not have to be paid. [Official FAQ]

  • Midori can only be used at timing structure of a run 2. [Official FAQ]

Awakening Center ( Creation and Control, 21)

  • Ice on Awakening Center are in the server and do not count as ice protecting the server. [Official FAQ]

  • Only one piece of hosted ice on Awakening Center can be encountered per run. [Official FAQ]

  • Ice hosted on Awakening Center can be rezzed through other card effects, but a rezzed piece of ice cannot be encountered unless it was rezzed by Awakening Center. [Official FAQ]

Scavenge ( Creation and Control, 34)

  • As part of the install action, the Runner can trash installed programs. [Official FAQ]

  • The Runner can trash a program as [the] additional cost, and then reinstall that same program. [Official FAQ]

Clone Chip ( Creation and Control, 38)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

Same Old Thing ( Creation and Control, 54)

  • The Runner cannot use Same Old Thing to play priority events. [Official FAQ]

Pawn ( Opening Moves, 2)

  • The Runner cannot choose the Pawn that is being trashed as the program to install with Pawn because the trash and install are part of the same effect. [Official FAQ]

  • Pawn can move onto a piece of ice hosting another caïssa, but other caïssa programs cannot move onto a piece of ice hosting Pawn. [Official FAQ]

Rook ( Opening Moves, 3)

  • Rook can be hosted on any piece of ice if it is already hosted on another non-ice card. [Official FAQ]

  • Rook can only move to another server if there is another piece of ice in the same “row” as the ice Rook is hosted on, counting up from the innermost piece of ice protecting each server. [Official FAQ]

Bishop ( Second Thoughts, 21)

  • Bishop can be hosted on any piece of ice if it is already hosted on another non-ice card. [Official FAQ]

  • Bishop only moves from a piece of ice protecting a central server to a piece of ice protecting a remote server, and vice versa. [Official FAQ]

Recon ( Second Thoughts, 24)

  • The Runner can jack out the first time they encounter a piece of ice with Recon, even if it was not the outermost piece of ice protecting the server. [Official FAQ]

Copycat ( Second Thoughts, 25)

  • If a piece of ice is bypassed, Copycat still triggers since the ice is also passed. [Official FAQ]

Eureka! ( Second Thoughts, 27)

  • The Runner can install the card even if they cannot lower the install cost by 10 credits (the “if able” only refers to the install action). [Official FAQ]

The Cleaners ( Second Thoughts, 36)

  • The Cleaners can add unpreventable meat damage if the source is also unpreventable. [Official FAQ]

  • The Cleaners adds an additional point of damage to the source of the damage before any damage is prevented. [Official FAQ]

Knight ( Mala Tempora, 43)

  • Knight can be hosted on any piece of ice if it is already hosted on another non-ice card. [Official FAQ]

  • Knight cannot move to a piece of ice that is vertically adjacent to the ice that it is hosted on. Knight can move to a piece of ice protecting any other server without restriction. [Official FAQ]

Accelerated Diagnostics ( Mala Tempora, 52)

  • If one of the operations played shuffles R&D, the remainder of Accelerated Diagnostics’ effect is ignored. [Official FAQ]

  • The Corp can only play and look at the top 3 cards (as determined when Accelerated Diagnostic was played). Even if other cards are moved into the top 3, those cards are not eligible to be played/ looked at by the Accelerated Diagnostics. [Official FAQ]

  • If any of the 3 cards looked at are no longer in the top 3 positions of R&D (as determined when Accelerated Diagnostics was played), then those cards cannot be played. [Official FAQ]

  • When the Corp plays an operation, they fully resolve it before playing another one or trashing the rest of the cards. [Official FAQ]

  • Each operation the Corp looks at can be played in any order. The Corp does not have to play the topmost operation first. [Official FAQ]

  • Looking at the top 3 cards of R&D does not remove the cards from R&D. The cards are still in R&D and able to be affected by operations played with Accelerated Diagnostics. [Official FAQ]

Sundew ( Mala Tempora, 54)

  • If the Runner plays a run event to initiate a run on the server Sundew is installed in, the Corp does not gain 2 credits. [Official FAQ]

  • The credits are gained when the Runner spends a click to initiate an action that does not make a run on the server Sundew is installed in, before the click is resolved. [Official FAQ]

Power Shutdown ( Mala Tempora, 58)

  • The Corp can play Power Shutdown even if the Runner has no installed cards. [Official FAQ]

  • The Corp cannot choose a number that is greater than the number of cards in R&D. [Official FAQ]

  • The Corp must choose X before trashing cards from R&D. [Official FAQ]

Keyhole ( True Colors, 61)

  • If Keyhole is trashed during a run it initiated, the replacement effect is still resolved. [Official FAQ]

  • The card trashed by Keyhole is trashed faceup. [Official FAQ]

RSVP ( True Colors, 77)

  • The Runner can spend zero credits after the subroutine on RSVP resolves to trash cards or trigger paid abilities. [Official FAQ] [eg to trash Project Junebug, or use Yog.0]

Toshiyuki Sakai ( Fear and Loathing, 92)

  • The card that is swapped with Toshiyuki Sakai is installed. This halts the resolution of the accessing step, taking the Runner back to the beginning of accessing the newly installed card. [Official FAQ]

Restoring Face ( Fear and Loathing, 94)

  • The Corp can trash a facedown card, but must reveal it to the Runner. The card is still trashed facedown. [Official FAQ]

Subliminal Messaging ( Fear and Loathing, 100)

  • When adding a facedown Subliminal Messaging in Archives to HQ, the Corp must reveal it to the Runner. [Official FAQ]

Paintbrush ( Double Time, 108)

  • If the Runner does not make a run during the turn they use Paintbrush, then the condition no longer applies and the ice loses any subtypes gained from Paintbrush. [Official FAQ]

Caprice Nisei ( Double Time, 114)

  • If there is no ice protecting the server, Caprice Nisei’s ability still triggers if she was rezzed before the run was initiated. [Official FAQ]

  • Caprice Nisei’s ability triggers at step 4 of a run. [Official FAQ]

    [This means that in order for Caprice's ability to trigger on a current run, the latest the Corp can rez Caprice is at run step 2.3 of the approach to the innermost ice, when the runner has decided to continue towards this ice. This is the same window that this ice can be rezzed.

    Rezzing Caprice after the runner passes the innermost ice is too late to have her ability trigger this run, because the next non-ice rez window after passing the innermost ice is 4.3, which is after Caprice's ability would trigger.]

NAPD Contract ( Double Time, 119)

  • If the Runner accesses NAPD Contract from R&D and does not pay the additional cost to steal it, the NAPD Contract is not revealed. [Official FAQ]

Tennin Institute: The Secrets Within ( Honor and Profit, 3)

  • The Tennin Institute can place advancement tokens on Runner cards. [Official FAQ]

  • The Tennin Institute cannot place advancement tokens on itself, since ID cards are not installed. [Official FAQ]

Tori Hanzō ( Honor and Profit, 22)

  • If the first instance of net damage is prevented by another effect or replaced with Tori Hanzō’s own effect, Tori Hanzō cannot trigger for the remainder of the run. [Official FAQ]

  • The first net damage can be prevented/avoided before Tori Hanzō’s replacement ability resolves. [Official FAQ]

Iain Stirling: Retired Spook ( Honor and Profit, 28)

  • If Iain Stirling has a negative agenda point total, then he has fewer agenda points than a Corp with 0 or more agenda points. [Official FAQ]

Security Testing ( Honor and Profit, 48)

  • If Security Testing is uninstalled after a server is chosen, its ability cannot replace accessing cards if the first run on the chosen server is successful; the ability is no longer active since the card is no longer active. [Official FAQ]

Overmind ( Honor and Profit, 53)

  • Overmind is installed, and its MU counts against the Runner’s memory limit, when it gains power counters. [Official FAQ]

Taurus ( Upstalk, 9)

  • If the Corp’s trace strength is 5 or greater, Taurus trashes a piece of hardware even if the trace was unsuccessful. This also applies to Gemini, Sagittarius, and Virgo. [Official FAQ]

Mother Goddess ( Upstalk, 10)

  • Mother Goddess only gains the subtypes of other ice while it is rezzed. [Official FAQ]

Bad Times ( Upstalk, 12)

  • The Runner can choose which memory to lose (e.g., memory from Deep Red). [Official FAQ]

Nasir Meidan: Cyber Explorer ( Upstalk, 17)

  • Abilities which require the Corp to pay an additional cost to rez ice do not give Nasir more credits when his ability resolves. [Official FAQ]

  • Abilities which increase the rez cost of ice give Nasir more credits when his ability resolves. Likewise, abilities which reduce the rez cost of ice give Nasir fewer credits. [Official FAQ]

  • An ice is considered “just rezzed” for Nasir’s ability if it is rezzed at any time during timing structure 2 of a run. [Official FAQ]

  • Nasir loses any bad publicity credits he has when his ability resolves. [Official FAQ]

The Foundry: Refining the Process ( The Spaces Between, 21)

  • The Corp must find a piece of ice searched for, if able. [Official FAQ]

Targeted Marketing ( The Spaces Between, 26)

  • The Corp cannot gain 10 credits when the Runner plays a current that trashes Targeted Marketing (if the current was named when Targeted Marketing was played). Targeted Marketing is trashed before its ability resolves. [Official FAQ]

D4v1d ( The Spaces Between, 33)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

Crisium Grid ( First Contact, 48)

  • Restrictions which require a successful run (e.g. Emergency Shutdown, Data Leak Reversal) cannot be used if the successful run was against a server with a rezzed Crisium Grid. [Official FAQ]

  • The run is considered neither successful nor unsuccessful for the purpose of future card abilities, even if Crisium Grid is later trashed. (e.g., Tennin Institute will trigger if the only successful run the Runner made was against a server with a rezzed Crisium Grid). [Official FAQ]

The Supplier ( First Contact, 56)

  • The Runner cannot use any “when your turn begins” abilities on cards that are installed by The Supplier until their next turn. [Official FAQ]

Order of Sol ( First Contact, 58)

  • The Runner gains 1 credit even during the resolution of another ability (e.g., paying the cost to play a Sure Gamble with 5 credits in their credit pool). [Official FAQ]

Architect ( Up and Over, 61)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

Sagittarius ( All That Remains, 82)

  • If the Corp’s trace strength is 5 or greater, Sagittarius trashes a program even if the trace was unsuccessful. [Official FAQ, listed under Taurus' ruling]

Hostile Infrastructure ( All That Remains, 83)

  • If Hostile Infrastructure and any other Corp cards are trashed simultaneously, Hostile Infrastructure will do 1 net damage for each card trashed. [Official FAQ] [Relevant if playing Apocalypse.]

  • Hostile Infrastructure does not resolve when the Corp trashes his or her cards, even as a result of a Runner ability (e.g. Noise forcing the Corp to trash the top card of R&D). [Official FAQ]

Gemini ( All That Remains, 84)

  • If the Corp’s trace strength is 5 or greater, Gemini does 1 net damage even if the trace was unsuccessful. [Official FAQ, listed under Taurus' ruling]

Daily Business Show ( All That Remains, 86)

  • The Corp does not have to tell the Runner whether they kept the first or second card drawn. The Corp must keep the two cards discrete from the rest of their hand, though, when deciding; the Corp can shuffle the two cards together to obscure which card was taken. [Official FAQ]

  • If the Corp has multiple copies of Daily Business Show installed, the abilities stack on top of each other (e.g. two copies result in the Corp drawing 3 cards and adding 2 to the bottom of R&D). [Official FAQ]

Ekomind ( All That Remains, 93)

  • The memory limit from Ekomind is modified by other card abilities (e.g. a Runner with 5 cards in his or her grip and an Akamatsu Mem Chip installed has 6). [Official FAQ]

Leela Patel: Trained Pragmatist ( All That Remains, 95)

  • If Leela steals an agenda while accessing multiple cards from HQ, she adds a card to HQ before continuing to access more cards. [Official FAQ] [Typically, the Corp player would shuffle this card into their HQ before continuing with accesses.]

Cerberus "Lady" H1 ( All That Remains, 99)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

IT Department ( The Source, 103)

  • IT Department always gives a piece of ice +1 strength due to the token spent to activate the card ability, even if there are no other counters left on the card or IT Department is no longer installed.

    Example: There are 5 tokens on IT Department. If the Corp spends 1 token, the ice has +5 strength (1 for the initial token + 4 for the token still on IT Department). If the Corp spends another token, now the ice has +8 strength (2 for the initial tokens + 3 for each of the two instances of the ability). If the Corp spent a third token, now the ice has only +9 strength (3 for the initial tokens + 2 for each of the three instances of the ability). [Official FAQ]

  • Once triggered, IT Department results in a constant ability that continually tracks how many power counters are on the card. [Official FAQ]

Virgo ( The Source, 109)

  • If the Corp’s trace strength is 5 or greater, Virgo gives the Runner 1 tag even if the trace was unsuccessful. [Official FAQ, listed under Taurus' ruling]

Self-destruct ( The Source, 112)

  • Self-Destruct does not count itself as one of the cards trashed in order to establish the trace value. [Official FAQ]

Gagarin Deep Space: Expanding the Horizon ( Order and Chaos, 2)

  • The Runner can decline to pay the 1 to access a card. [Official FAQ]

Glenn Station ( Order and Chaos, 5)

  • Glenn Station can only host a card through its click ability. [Official FAQ]

  • If Glenn Station is forfeited, any card hosted on it is trashed. [Official FAQ]

Mark Yale ( Order and Chaos, 9)

  • If the Corp spends an agenda counter for Mark Yale’s paid ability, they also gain 1 from his conditional ability. [Official FAQ]

Wormhole ( Order and Chaos, 13)

  • The subroutine that resolves is not considered to be on Wormhole (e.g. when the Corp uses Wormhole with cards like Data Raven or Viktor 2.0, the power counters are placed on those cards and not Wormhole). [Official FAQ]

Housekeeping ( Order and Chaos, 20)

  • If the Runner has 1 card in his or her grip and installs it, Housekeeping has no effect and does not prevent the install. (Only forced trashing through damage can result in a flatline.) [Official FAQ]

The Twins ( Order and Chaos, 24)

  • The Runner cannot jack out before encountering the ice again. [Official FAQ]

Edward Kim: Humanity's Hammer ( Order and Chaos, 28)

  • If the first operation Edward Kim accesses is in Archives, then he cannot trash another operation with his ability that turn. [Official FAQ]

I've Had Worse ( Order and Chaos, 32)

  • I’ve Had Worse cannot prevent the Runner from being flatlined if the Runner takes more damage than the number of cards in their grip. [Official FAQ]

  • The Runner trashes all cards from the damage before drawing for I’ve Had Worse. [Official FAQ]

Itinerant Protesters ( Order and Chaos, 33)

  • The Corp does not lose the game if they have a negative hand size. [Official FAQ]

Eater ( Order and Chaos, 40)

  • If the Runner access Archives after using Eater, all cards are turned faceup but no individual cards are accessed. [Official FAQ]

Enhanced Vision ( The Valley, 5)

  • The revealed card is no longer revealed during the access phase; it immediately returns to its unrevealed state after the Corp shows the card to the Runner. [Official FAQ]

Turntable ( Chrome City, 43)

  • Agendas switched with Turntable keep any hosted counters or cards on them, but their text is not active. [Official FAQ]

Allele Repression ( The Underway, 73)

  • Allele Repression can add itself to HQ as part of the resolution of its effect. [Official FAQ]

Film Critic ( Old Hollywood, 86)

  • Film Critic can only host an agenda through its ‘when accessed’ ability. [Official FAQ]

  • The Runner cannot voluntarily trash an agenda hosted on Film Critic, even if the Runner accesses another agenda. [Official FAQ]

  • An agenda hosted on Film Critic is not considered to be stolen. An agenda added to the score area from Film Critic is not considered to be stolen. [Official FAQ] [At neither step does the Runner have to pay the credit cost for Fetal AI or NAPD Contract, or 'play the psi game' on The Future Perfect. Also, neither step satisfies the requirement to play Midseason Replacements or Punitive Counterstrike.]

  • After Film Critic’s ‘when accessed’ ability resolves, any remaining ‘when accessed’ abilities are non-resolvable. [Official FAQ] [So for example, Fetal AI's 2 net damage does not trigger.]

Casting Call ( Old Hollywood, 96)

  • If the agenda hosting Casting Call is uninstalled, Casting Call is trashed. [Official FAQ]

  • Agendas installed faceup with Casting Call are not active (unless those agendas can be installed faceup through their own abilities). [Official FAQ] [Example agendas that can be installed faceup: Oaktown Renovation, Underway Renovation, Hollywood Renovation.]

Worlds Plaza ( The Universe of Tomorrow, 116)

  • Worlds Plaza may be accessed and trashed, thereby trashing all of its hosted cards, before the cards hosted on it are accessed. [Official FAQ]

Archangel ( Data and Destiny, 13)

  • Archangel is not considered to be rezzed during its encounter, and cards that interact with rezzed cards, e.g., Datasucker, cannot affect it. [Official FAQ]

  • If Archangel is encountered while accessed and it is moved from its position as determined when accessed (e.g., from R&D being shuffled during the encounter or from Archangel being trashed from HQ by Utopia Shard during the encounter), then the encounter immediately ends and any currently open paid ability windows close. [Official FAQ]

  • When encountering an Archangel during access, the Runner follows timing step 3 of a run, ignoring the portions about approaching ice/ the server. [Official FAQ]

Ad Blitz ( Data and Destiny, 20)

  • The Corp must both install and rez any advertisements chosen by Ad Blitz. [Official FAQ]

The All-Seeing I ( Data and Destiny, 22)

  • The Corp does not have to have a bad publicity in order to play The All-Seeing I. [Official FAQ]

Endless Hunger ( Data and Destiny, 33)

  • Endless Hunger can only break subroutines that read exactly “ End the run.” It cannot break subroutines that use the words “end the run” as only part of its effect, e.g. on Tsurugi or Pop-up Window. [Official FAQ]

Hunting Grounds ( Data and Destiny, 35)

  • The prevent ability on Hunting Grounds is optional; because it can only be triggered “once per turn” it is the Runner’s choice as to when to trigger it. [Official FAQ]

Adam: Compulsive Hacker ( Data and Destiny, 37)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    When does the Runner need to decide which 3 directives Adam starts the game with?

    The Runner chooses which 3 directives Adam uses after IDs are revealed.

Brain Chip ( Data and Destiny, 39)

  • If the Runner has negative agenda points, Brain Chip does not lower his or her hand size or MU: these cannot be increased by a negative number. [Official FAQ] [Negative agenda points can be gained from News Team or Shi.Kyū.]

Always Be Running ( Data and Destiny, 41)

  • Programs that make a run, such as Sneakdoor Beta, Keyhole, etc., do not fulfill the requirement to make a run on Always Be Running. [Official FAQ]

Mumba Temple ( Kala Ghoda, 18)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

Pālanā Foods: Sustainable Growth ( Business First, 30)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    The Runner has Safety First and Drug Dealer installed. What is the exact timing of the two draw effects, and how many times does Pālanā Foods gain 1?

    Conditional abilities that trigger when the Runner’s turn ends do so at Runner 2.4, and abilities that trigger when the Corp’s turn begins do so at Corp 1.2. Pālanā Foods will gain a credit for both Safety First and for Drug Dealer, assuming each was the first time the Runner drew a card.

Bio-Ethics Association ( Democracy and Dogma, 50)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

Mumbad City Hall ( Democracy and Dogma, 55)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    If Near-Earth Hub: Broadcast Center uses Mumbad City Hall to install Mumba Temple in a new remote server, do they draw a card before or after shuffling R&D?

    During resolution of the search effect from Mumbad City Hall, shuffling R&D must come before doing anything with the card the Corp searched for. Thus, R&D is shuffled before installing Mumba Temple and triggering Near-Earth Hub.

    If the Corp uses Mumbad City Hall to play Heritage Committee, when is R&D shuffled?

    During resolution of the search effect from Mumbad City Hall, shuffling R&D must come before doing anything with the card the Corp searched for. Thus, Heritage Committee is played only after R&D is shuffled.

Personality Profiles ( Salsette Island, 66)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    Does Personality Profiles trigger when the search for Hostage begins or after a connection is found and added to the Runner’s grip?

    When the search initiates, before the Runner looks at the stack.

Jeeves Model Bioroids ( Salsette Island, 67)

  • Jeeves must be rezzed while all 3 clicks are being spent. Installed cards must be active while meeting their trigger condition, and Jeeves trigger condition is the spending of 3 clicks on the same action, not the third click. [Official FAQ]

  • Playing a double operation and then playing a regular operation, spending three clicks for Melange Mining Corp., as well as clicking for three credits are each considered spending three clicks on the same action. Additional costs are still costs to trigger an ability. [Official FAQ]

Temple of the Liberated Mind ( The Liberated Mind, 82)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    The Runner uses a power counter from Temple of the Liberated Mind in turn step 1.1 (before "Turn begins") or step 2.3 (before "End of turn"). Can the gained be spent on actions at either of these times?

    The Runner cannot spend clicks on taking actions until "Take actions" during step 1.4 of their turn. Before that step of the turn, clicks can still be lost or spent through card effects, such as Wyldside or Bioroid ice during a run initiated by a card effect. A click gained during step 2.3 after the action phase does not return the runner to the action phase, and it will not be available to spend until the Runner’s next action phase because clicks can only be gained or spent during a player’s own turn. However, it can still be lost by card effects (for example, if the Corp plays An Offer You Can't Refuse and resolves the first subroutine on an Enigma).

Consulting Visit ( The Liberated Mind, 94)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    When does Consulting Visit shuffle R&D?

    During resolution of the search effect from Consulting Visit, shuffling R&D must come before doing anything with the card the Corp searched for. Thus, the found operation is played only after R&D is shuffled.

GPI Net Tap ( 23 Seconds, 3)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    If the expose effect is prevented, can the Runner still trash GPI Net Tap to jack out?

    Yes. Each effect is separate from the other. "Then" does not imply any conditionality to the expose effect, it only indicates the order of resolution.

Hernando Cortez ( 23 Seconds, 4)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    If a piece of ice will gain a subroutine from an effect like Sensei or Komainu, does that subroutine factor into the additional cost for Hernando Cortez as well?

    No. Those effects cause the next piece of ice encountered to gain a subroutine, but ice is rezzed during the approach.

    How many credits is the additional cost incurred for rezzing a piece of ice with flexible subroutines while Hernando Cortez's ability is active (such as NEXT Silver, Ashigaru, Tour Guide, etc.)?

    The abilities that cause these pieces of ice to gain/lose subroutines are only active once the pieces of ice have been successfully rezzed. Because costs are always paid before the rez, Hernando Cortez will not add an additional cost to these pieces of ice.

Mirror ( 23 Seconds, 5)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    If the number of recurring credits available on Pheromones has decreased (e.g. from the Corp using Cyberdex Virus Suite during the run on R&D), can the Runner still use Mirror to replace a recurring credit if the number of credits still hosted on Pheromones is greater than or equal the number of virus counters?

    No. Recurring credits can only be replaced up to the value shown on the card, never over it.

    Can the Runner use Mirror's ability to replace a spent recurring credit on Whizzard: Master Gamer?

    Mirror's ability does not require the choice of a card, so it can replace a recurring credit on any active card whether or not it is installed.

    Can the Runner use Mirror's ability to replace a spent recurring credit on a Corp card?

    Yes.

    If the number of recurring credits available on Pheromones has increased, can the Runner "replace" the new recurring credit using Mirror's ability?

    No. The Recurring credit must have actually been spent in order to be replaced.

    The Runner starts the turn with 1 virus counter on Pheromones. The Runner then makes a run on HQ, during which the Runner spends the credit on Pheromones and the Corp uses Cyberdex Virus Suite. The Runner makes a second run on HQ, bringing the number of virus counters on Pheromones to 2. If the Runner then makes two successful runs on R&D, can Mirror replace a spent credit on Pheromones both times?

    The first Mirror trigger can replace a recurring credit, but the second Mirror trigger cannot. Mirror cares only whether the card hosted recurring credits that were spent since the last replacement, but the game will only allow Mirror to replace a credit if there is "room" for the recurring credit to be replaced.

Deuces Wild ( 23 Seconds, 8)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    When does the Runner choose and resolve the second option for Deuces Wild?

    The Runner does not have to choose which mode to resolve next until the first has finished resolving.

    Can the Runner choose the same option on Deuces Wild twice?

    No.

    With Always Be Running installed, may a Runner play Deuces Wild with their first click?

    No. Deuces Wild is not a Run event.

    If all ice is rezzed, can the Runner select the fourth option on Deuces Wild?

    Yes. Each effect is separate from the other. "Then" does not imply any conditionality to the expose effect, it only indicates the order of resolution.

    Why is Dan D'Argenio depicted as wearing sleeves on Deuces Wild?

    Cards must be sleeved to be legal for tournament play.

Fairchild 1.0 ( 23 Seconds, 10)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    What happens if the Runner has no installed cards or no credits when encountering Fairchild 1.0?

    When one of Fairchild 1.0's subroutines resolves, the Runner must follow the instructions to the extent that they are able. So if they have no credits, they will need to trash an installed card. If they have no installed cards, they will be forced to pay a credit. If they have neither credits nor installed cards, they will not be able to fulfill the instruction at all, so the subroutine does nothing.

Chrysalis ( 23 Seconds, 13)

Georgia Emelyov ( 23 Seconds, 14)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    Can the Corp move Georgia Emelyov to a new remote server?

    No. Georgia Emelyov must be moved to another server that already exists. New remote servers can only be made during installations.

Hard-Hitting News ( 23 Seconds, 16)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    How does "After you resolve this operation, end your action phase." on terminal operations like Hard-Hitting News work?

    Immediately after the operation resolves and is trashed from playing it, "after you resolve this operation" triggers meet their trigger condition. Ending the action phase then advances the game to the discard phase. This skips the paid ability window that would normally follow the end of an action, ceases the resolution of any other pending abilities or effects, and invalidates any conditional abilities. If the operation was played as part of a card ability, any remaining effects from that card ability immediately stop resolving as well.

    If the Corp plays Hard-Hitting News as the first operation for Subcontract, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Hard-Hitting News. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Subcontract is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing of a second operation with Subcontract. The played Subcontract is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

    If the Corp plays Hard-Hitting News as one of the operations looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Hard-Hitting News. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Accelerated Diagnostics is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing or trashing of any remaining cards looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics. The played Accelerated Diagnostics is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

NBN: Controlling the Message ( 23 Seconds, 17)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    If the Runner trashes more than one Corp card at the same time, such as with Apocalypse, how many traces does Controlling the Message initiate?

    One.

    If the Runner plays Apocalypse and Aryabhata Tech Tech trigger?

    No. Controlling the Message triggers off of the Runner trashing the installed Corp cards, and only abilities on active cards can trigger.

Stock Buy-Back ( 23 Seconds, 19)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    How does "After you resolve this operation, end your action phase." on terminal operations like Stock Buyback work?

    Immediately after the operation resolves and is trashed from playing it, "after you resolve this operation" triggers meet their trigger condition. Ending the action phase then advances the game to the discard phase. This skips the paid ability window that would normally follow the end of an action, ceases the resolution of any other pending abilities or effects, and invalidates any conditional abilities. If the operation was played as part of a card ability, any remaining effects from that card ability immediately stop resolving as well.

    If the Corp plays Stock Buyback as the first operation for Subcontract, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Stock Buyback. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Subcontract is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing of a second operation with Subcontract. The played Subcontract is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

    If the Corp plays Stock Buyback as one of the operations looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Stock Buyback. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Accelerated Diagnostics is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing or trashing of any remaining cards looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics. The played Accelerated Diagnostics is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

Sandburg ( 23 Seconds, 20)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    The Corp has 10 while Sandburg is installed. A Parasite with 1 hosted virus counter is installed on an Ice Wall without advancement counters. Is the Ice Wall trashed if the Corp plays Hedge Fund?

    Yes. The Corp's credit pool dips below 10 after paying the cost of Hedge Fund, so Ice Wall's strength is reduced to zero momentarily.

Credit Crash ( Blood Money, 21)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    During a run initiated by Credit Crash, is the Runner required to reveal the accessed card to the Corp if it is accessed from R&D?

    The card must be revealed. This effect requires the Corp to act on an element of the card, so it is satisfied by the Corp examining that card.

    If the Corp prevents the trashing of the first card accessed with Credit Crash, can the Runner still trash that card normally?

    Yes.

Rumor Mill ( Blood Money, 22)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does the Corp have to forfeit an agenda to rez Ibrahim Salem while Rumor Mill is active?

    No, Ibrahim Salem’s text box is considered blank while Rumor Mill is active, even if Ibrahim Salem is inactive.

    Does the Runner add Director Haas to their score area if they trash it when accessing it from R&D while Rumor Mill is active?

    No. Director Haas’s text box is considered blank while Rumor Mill is active, even if Director Haas is not installed.

    What happens to cards hosted on Worlds Plaza while Rumor Mill is active?

    They remain hosted. A blank card does not have any hosting abilities or restrictions, so anything already hosted on it remains hosted.

Nfr ( Blood Money, 23)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Corp has The Twins installed, which goes first, Nfr or The Twins? If The Twins is used first, does Nfr still gain a counter after the second encounter?

    The encounter with the piece of ice ending is a result of the Runner passing the ice. For simultaneous effects, first all of the active player’s abilities trigger, then all of the inactive player’s abilities trigger. Thus, if it is the Runner’s turn, Nfr will gain a counter before the second encounter occurs. If it is the Corp’s turn, The Twins triggers first; after the second encounter with the piece of ice, Nfr will resolve twice to place two counters on itself.

Paperclip ( Blood Money, 24)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner spend credits on Cloak to install Paperclip from the heap?

    No. While triggering Paperclip’s ability from the heap is considered using Paperclip, paying the install cost is part of the install action and not a cost of using the ability.

    Can the Runner use Paperclip’s paid ability even if its strength doesn’t match a piece of ice?

    Yes, you can always trigger the ability to get the strength boost. However, if the strength of Paperclip does not match the ice’s strength after this part of the ability resolves, the “break subroutines” part will not do anything.

    Can the Runner trash Paperclip for Null: Whistleblower ability and then install Paperclip at the same encounter step?

    No. In order for Paperclip's ability to meet its trigger condition, it must be in the heap at the time the encounter occurs.

Golden ( Blood Money, 25)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner use Golden to derez Troll?

    No. The Runner cannot use Golden to break any subroutines on Troll, so the usage requirement for Golden has no way of being satisfied.

Temüjin Contract ( Blood Money, 26)

  • NAPD Most Wanted List - Level 1: Each copy of this card costs 1 universal influence, which is separate & in addition to the normal printed influence, and counts against all Identities influence limits, even those in the same faction. [MWL v1.2]

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    What happens if the remote server chosen for Temujin Contract is destroyed?

    Any credits still on Temujin Contract remain on it, but the card does not have any abilities that let you take them.

Khan: Savvy Skiptracer ( Blood Money, 27)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does Khan’s ability trigger if an encountered ice is trashed?

    Yes. Ice that is uninstalled while it is being approached or encountered is immediately passed.

Data Breach ( Blood Money, 28)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If a Runner with Doppelgänger uses Data Breach, can he or she choose in which order their effects trigger?

    Both Doppelgänger and Data Breach meet their trigger condition at the same time, so the Runner chooses the order the effects trigger. Once the additional run from either effect has completed, then the other ability triggers and the Runner may initiate another run. Either (a) the Runner chooses to trigger Data Breach first, makes a run on R&D, and then makes an additional run with Doppelgänger’s ability; or (b) the Runner makes an additional run with Doppelgänger’s ability, and then makes an additional run on R&D after that run completes.

Algo Trading ( Blood Money, 29)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does Algo Trading start getting 2 from the bank on the second or third turn after it is installed?

    Algo Trading’s second ability can start putting 2 on it the second turn after it is installed. Both abilities meet their trigger condition at the same time each turn, so the Runner can choose the order in which they trigger. The second ability does not check how many credits are on Algo Trading until it resolves, so if the Runner chooses to trigger the first ability before the second ability and this brings the number of credits on it up to 6, then the second ability will be able to resolve.

Beth Kilrain-Chang ( Blood Money, 30)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    What does it mean for the Corp to “have” a certain number of credits?

    This means that the player has that number of credits in their credit pool. Recurring credits and other credits hosted on cards do not count unless they say otherwise.

    With Beth Kilrain-Chang installed, if the Corp has 9 and a scored Corporate Sales Team when the Runner's turn begins, does the Runner gain 1, draw 1 card, or both?

    The credit requirements for Beth's abilities are part of their trigger conditions, so only one of them can possibly meet its trigger condition when the Runner's turn begins. In this case, when the Runner's turn begins, Beth's first ability and Corporate Sales Team meet their trigger conditions at the same time. As it is the Runner's turn, first Beth's ability resolves and the Runner gains 1. Then, Corporate Sales Team's ability resolves. Since the turn has already begun, Beth's second ability cannot retroactively trigger at this point.

Fairchild 2.0 ( Blood Money, 31)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner has exactly 1 when Fairchild 2.0’s first subroutine resolves, what happens? What if the Runner has no installed cards?

    The Runner must choose an option they are able to fulfill if possible. If they don’t have 2, they must trash an installed card. If the Runner doesn’t have any installed cards, they can’t fulfill either option, so they get to keep their 1.

Enforcing Loyalty ( Blood Money, 33)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can Enforcing Loyalty be used to trash installed Corp cards?

    Yes. There are no Corp cards that have factions that match the factions of Runner identities.

    Do neutral cards match the faction of any Runner's identity?

    Neutral cards do not belong to any faction, so Enforcing Loyalty can trash them against any Runner identity.

Hatchet Job ( Blood Money, 34)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can Hatchet Job add a Corp card to the Runner's grip?

    No, cards can only be added to hands and decks belonging to their owner.

    Can Hatchet Job add a facedown virtual card to the Runner's grip?

    Yes. Runner cards do not have subtypes while facedown.

Special Report ( Blood Money, 35)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Corp play Special Report and choose to shuffle 0 cards into R&D?

    Yes.

    Can the Corp play Special Report when it is the only card in HQ.

    Yes, Special Report can shuffle R&D even if you have no other cards in HQ, so it has the potential to change the game state and can be played.

    Can the Corp play Special Report when there are no cards in R&D?

    Yes, unless there would be no cards in HQ when Special Report is played, in which case it does not have the potential to changed the game state.

Liquidation ( Blood Money, 37)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Corp play Liquidation while there are no rezzed cards?

    No, you cannot trigger an ability that has no potential to change the game state.

    Can the Corp play Liquidation while there are rezzed cards, but then choose not to trash any cards?

    Yes. Abilities are only checked for their potential to change the game state to determine whether or not those abilities can be triggered. Once an ability begins resolving, it does not have to change the game state.

Weyland Consortium: Builder of Nations ( Blood Money, 38)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does Builder of Nations trigger when a piece of ice with advancement tokens on it is trashed?

    Yes. When an encountered piece of ice is uninstalled, the encounter immediately ends.

    Does Builder of Nations trigger for a piece of ice without any advancement tokens on it that is protecting a server in which Satellite Grid is installed and rezzed?

    Yes. The game treats each piece of ice protecting a server with Satellite Grid as though it had advancement tokens.

Financial Collapse ( Blood Money, 39)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Corp play Financial Collapse while there are no installed resources?

    No.

    The Runner is playing Armand "Geist" Walker, and Fall Guy and Tech Trader are the only installed resources. If the Corp plays Financial Collapse, can Geist attempt to trash Tech Trader for Financial Collapse, then prevent the trash with Fall Guy? What happens?

    The Runner can use Fall guy to prevent the trashing of Tech Trader (drawing a card and gaining a credit through Geist’s and Tech Trader’s abilities), but this means the cost to prevent Financial Collapse’s ability has not been paid, so Financial Collapse’s ability will still resolve, and Geist will lose 2 credits for the 1 remaining resource.

Obelus ( Escalation, 41)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner accesses a single card twice during a run on HQ with Obelus, how many cards do they draw?

    Two cards. The Runner is considered to have accessed two cards even if they end up being the same card.

    If the Runner accesses cards from another server during a run on HQ or R&D, such as through the ability on Hades Shard, does the Runner draw cards for those accesses as well?

    Yes. Those cards were accessed during the run, and the ability does not stipulate that the accesses must be from the attacked server or its root.

Omar Keung: Conspiracy Theorist ( Escalation, 43)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does the Runner have to choose a server for Omar’s ability when it is used or when the run on Archives is successful?

    The choice is not made until the relevant part of the ability resolves.

    If Crisium Grid is installed on the central server chosen for Omar’s ability, is it considered a successful run and if so on which server?

    The successful run on Archives is replaced with a run on the central server that is considered neither successful nor unsuccessful.

Net Mercur ( Escalation, 46)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    What does "for anything" on Net Mercur mean?

    For the purposes of spending credits, credits on Net Mercur act like credits in your credit pool. However, if an effect makes the Runner lose all credits in their credit pool, credits on Net Mercur are not lost.

Find the Truth ( Escalation, 47)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If Adam starts the game with Find the Truth in play, does the Runner reveal his or her starting hand to the Corp?

    No. The directives start the game installed, but during set up they are not active.

Ark Lockdown ( Escalation, 50)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Corp name a card that is not in the heap when playing Ark Lockdown?

    Yes. Abilities are only checked for their potential to change the game state to determine whether those abilities can be triggered. Once an ability begins resolving, it does not have to change the game state.

Hellion Beta Test ( Escalation, 51)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner accesses a card and then later trashes it outside of an access (e.g. with Political Operative), can the Corp play Hellion Beta Test on the next turn?

    No, Hellion Beta Test’s condition requires a card to have been trashed while it was being accessed.

    If the Runner trashed only one Corp card on their last turn and subsequently used Salsette Slums to remove that card from the game, can the Corp still play Hellion Beta Test?

    No. Salsette Slums has a replacement ability, so the card is not considered to have been trashed.

    If the Corp plays Hellion Beta Test and the Runner only has one installed non-program card, must the Corp trash one of their own installed cards?

    Yes.

Project Kusanagi ( Escalation, 52)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Corp choose an unrezzed piece of ice for Project Kusanagi's ability?

    Yes, but it won’t do anything because unrezzed ice cannot have subroutines. Note that the Corp can only activate Project Kusagani’s ability if there is a rezzed piece of ice somewhere: to activate the ability, it must have the potential to change the game state, but once the ability resolves the Corp is not required to make a choice that actually changes the game state.

Jinteki: Potential Unleashed ( Escalation, 54)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner suffers net damage and one of the cards trashed is I've Had Worse, which goes first: trashing the top card of the stack or drawing three cards?

    Both Potential Unleashed and I’ve Had Worse meet their trigger conditions at the same time. If it is currently the Runner’s turn, they draw three cards then trash a card from the top of the stack. If it is the Corp’s turn, the top card of the stack is trashed then the Runner draws three cards.

    If the Runner takes more than 1 net damage at once (e.g. with Project Junebug), how many cards do they trash from the top of the stack?

    “For each” effects are a single batch of net damage that depends on another value, so only one card from the top of the stack is trashed.

Observe and Destroy ( Escalation, 56)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can Observe and Destroy trash a Corp card?

    Yes.

Service Outage ( Escalation, 57)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner initiate an effect that makes a run while Service Outage is active, then decline to pay the additional cost? If so, does that count as the “first run” on their turn?

    Yes, the additional cost can be declined (and the run does not initiate). This does not count as the first run, as no run was initiated.

Door to Door ( Escalation, 59)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does Door to Door give the Runner 1 tag if the trace is unsuccessful or if the runner is not tagged?

    Door to Door does not give the tag if the trace is unsuccessful, but rather only if the trace is successful and the Runner is not tagged.

En Passant ( Intervention, 61)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner play En Passant to trash a piece of ice that was passed while rezzed and then subsequently derezzed by another card ability (e.g. Emergency Shutdown or Golden)?

    Yes. En Passant trashes an unrezzed piece of ice, regardless of the situation in which it was passed earlier in the turn.

Frantic Coding ( Intervention, 62)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner uses Paige Piper to find and trash the other copies of the card installed by Frantic Coding, are the rest of the cards looked at still trashed?

    No. Paige Piper interrupts the resolution of Frantic Coding, and as a search effect it shuffles the stack. After this, the cards that were looked at can no longer be confirmed and referenced, so the rest of Frantic Coding’s ability fails to resolve.

The Gauntlet ( Intervention, 63)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does The Gauntlet count broken pieces of ice that have since been derezzed or trashed?

    The Gauntlet can count derezzed pieces of ice on which all subroutines were broken, but it cannot count trashed pieces of ice because they are no longer protecting HQ.

Top Hat ( Intervention, 67)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does Top Hat allow the Runner to see the top cards of R&D before choosing which to access?

    No.

Citadel Sanctuary ( Intervention, 70)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner uses Joshua B. to gain an extra click while untagged, can Citadel Sanctuary remove the tag gained from Joshua B.’s ability at the end of the turn?

    No. The Runner must be tagged when the end of the turn occurs in order for Citadel Sanctuary to meet its trigger condition. If the Runner takes a tag after the end of the turn has already occurred, such as through Joshua B.’s ability, then Citadel Sanctuary cannot retroactively meet its trigger condition.

Haas-Bioroid: Architects of Tomorrow ( Intervention, 72)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does Architects of Tomorrow trigger if the Runner trashes an encountered bioroid?

    No. Architects of Tomorrow requires that the Runner passses a rezzed piece of ice, and ice that is not installed is neither rezzed nor unrezzed. Consequently, Architects of Tomorrow is still available to trigger later in the same turn.

Fumiko Yamamori ( Intervention, 73)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner loses the psi game from Caprice Nisei while Fumiko Yamamori is rezzed, does the Runner take meat damage before or after the run ends?

    After. The run ending is a constant effect from the result of the secretly spent credits being revealed, so it must be immediately resolved before any abilities triggered from the secretly spent credits being revealed.

Chief Slee ( Intervention, 77)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If an encountered piece of ice is trashed, does Chief Slee gain power counters?

    Yes. If an encountered piece of ice is uninstalled, then the encounter immediately ends.

    If the Runner trashes Hive during the encounter while the Corp has 2 agenda points in their score area, how many power counters are placed on Chief Slee? What if the Runner encounters and trashes an ice that gains subroutines, like Komainu?

    Chief Slee references the number of unbroken subroutines that were on the encountered ice at the time the encounter ended. Thus, if the Runner trashes Hive in this situation, Chief Slee will gain 3 power counters. Likewise, Chief Slee will gain as many power counters as the Komainu had subroutines when it was trashed.

Best Defense ( Intervention, 79)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can Best Defense trash a Corp card?

    No.

Preemptive Action ( Intervention, 80)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    How does "After you resolve this operation, end your action phase." on terminal operations like Preemptive Action work?

    Immediately after the operation resolves and is trashed from playing it, "after you resolve this operation" triggers meet their trigger condition. Ending the action phase then advances the game to the discard phase. This skips the paid ability window that would normally follow the end of an action, ceases the resolution of any other pending abilities or effects, and invalidates any conditional abilities. If the operation was played as part of a card ability, any remaining effects from that card ability immediately stop resolving as well.

    If the Corp plays Preemptive Action as the first operation for Subcontract, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Preemptive Action. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Subcontract is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing of a second operation with Subcontract. The played Subcontract is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

    If the Corp plays Preemptive Action as one of the operations looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Preemptive Action. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Accelerated Diagnostics is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing or trashing of any remaining cards looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics. The played Accelerated Diagnostics is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

On the Lam ( Martial Law, 82)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does using On the Lam's ability trigger Wasteland?

    No. On the Lam is a condition counter and no longer considered a card while hosted on the resource.

    Can the Runner install On the Lam from a Street Peddler?

    No. On the Lam's ability causes it to be installed as a hosted condition counter. As an event, it cannot ever be installed.

Cold Read ( Martial Law, 83)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner trash a Cloak if they spend the credit from Cloak during the run initiated by Cold Read?

    Yes. Spending recurring credits from a card is considered using that card, so trashing Cloak for Cold Read is allowed.

Reaver ( Martial Law, 86)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If Reaver is the first card trashed during a turn, does the Runner draw a card?

    No. Reaver must be active when the card is trashed in order to trigger.

Friends in High Places ( Martial Law, 90)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    How does "After you resolve this operation, end your action phase." on terminal operations like Friends in High Places work?

    Immediately after the operation resolves and is trashed from playing it, "after you resolve this operation" triggers meet their trigger condition. Ending the action phase then advances the game to the discard phase. This skips the paid ability window that would normally follow the end of an action, ceases the resolution of any other pending abilities or effects, and invalidates any conditional abilities. If the operation was played as part of a card ability, any remaining effects from that card ability immediately stop resolving as well.

    If the Corp plays Friends in High Places as the first operation for Subcontract, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Friends in High Places. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Subcontract is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing of a second operation with Subcontract. The played Subcontract is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

    If the Corp plays Friends in High Places as one of the operations looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Friends in High Places. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Accelerated Diagnostics is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing or trashing of any remaining cards looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics. The played Accelerated Diagnostics is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

Manta Grid ( Martial Law, 91)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner would gain enough credits to have more than 6 when the run ends (e.g. through a run initiated by Dirty Laundry or High-Stakes Job), does Manta Grid still trigger?

    The credit amount requirement for Manta Grid’s ability is a part of the trigger condition, so the number of credits the Runner has when the run ends is the amount that is checked. Any changes in credit amount due to other triggered abilities will not stop Manta Grid from triggering.

    If the Runner trashes Manta Grid after the run in which it triggers (e.g. with Political Operative or on another run), does the Corp still get an additional click on their next turn?

    Yes. Once an ability is triggered, it exists independently of its source.

Mind Game ( Martial Law, 92)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If there is ice protecting the server chosen for Mind Game, can the Runner jack out before encountering the outermost piece of ice on that server, or must they encounter it first?

    The Runner can jack out before encountering ice on the new server, as long as they add 1 installed card to the bottom of the stack. The choice to jack out from a run is during the approach to a piece of ice, and the restriction from jacking out on a run only applies to the first piece of ice approached during a run, not the outermost ice of any server.

    What happens if the subroutine on Wormhole resolves the one on Mind Game?

    The psi-game occurs, but if you spent a different number of credits the Runner will continue their run passing Wormhole and the Runner will incur the additional cost to jack out for the remainder of the run. The Runner’s position does not otherwise change because Mind Game’s position-changing effect replaces “passing Mind Game”.

Şifr ( Quorum, 101)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can Şifr be used on Lotus Field?

    No. Lotus Field cannot have its strength lowered.

    What is the strength of Wraparound if there is no fracter installed and the Runner uses Şifr? What if the Runner then installs Paperclip from the heap?

    Wraparound will be 0 strength until the end of the encounter or until another strength modifier is applied. It will still be 0 after Paperclip is installed, as Wraparound losing the +7 strength modifier is not the same as applying a -7 modifier.

    The Runner has a Parasite hosting four virus counters and installed on a rezzed Architect, and they have an Atman with no power counters on it. Can the Runner use Şifr to set Architect’s strength to 0 so they can break it with Atman?

    No. Şifr can only lower the strength of an ice to 0, it cannot raise it.

    The Corp has a rezzed Sandburg and 14. The Runner has a Faust installed. If the Runner uses Şifr when they encounter Bulwark, what is Bulwark’s final strength?

    Bulwark’s final strength once the runner has the ability to use paid abilities to break subroutines is 3. When Şifr is used, it is the most recently applied modifier, so even though Sandburg gives Bulwark +2 strength it still has a final strength of 0. Then when Bulwark’s ability resolves causing the Corp to go from 14 to 16, Sandburg’s effect updates and becomes the most recently applied modifier, which applies after Şifr sets the strength from the base of 8 to 0; the final strength becomes 3.

Aaron Marrón ( Quorum, 106)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner use Aaron Marrón when they have no tags? How about if the stack is empty?

    As long as either a tag would be removed or a card would be drawn, the ability has the potential to change the game state and thus can be used. If both the stack is empty and the Runner has no tags, then Aaron Marrón cannot possibly change the game state and thus cannot be used.

Encore ( Quorum, 107)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner play two Encores on the same turn?

    If the Runner has enough clicks in a single turn to run successfully on R&D, HQ, and Archives then play two Encores, then the Runner takes two additional turns after that one.

Peace in Our Time ( Quorum, 109)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner play Peace in Our Time if they’ve already made any runs before spending any clicks, such as with Out of the Ashes or Jak Sinclair?

    Yes.

Violet Level Clearance ( Quorum, 111)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    How does "After you resolve this operation, end your action phase." on terminal operations like Violet Level Clearance work?

    Immediately after the operation resolves and is trashed from playing it, "after you resolve this operation" triggers meet their trigger condition. Ending the action phase then advances the game to the discard phase. This skips the paid ability window that would normally follow the end of an action, ceases the resolution of any other pending abilities or effects, and invalidates any conditional abilities. If the operation was played as part of a card ability, any remaining effects from that card ability immediately stop resolving as well.

    If the Corp plays Violet Level Clearance as the first operation for Subcontract, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Violet Level Clearance. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Subcontract is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing of a second operation with Subcontract. The played Subcontract is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

    If the Corp plays Violet Level Clearance as one of the operations looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Violet Level Clearance. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Accelerated Diagnostics is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing or trashing of any remaining cards looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics. The played Accelerated Diagnostics is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

Psychokinesis ( Quorum, 113)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    How does "After you resolve this operation, end your action phase." on terminal operations like Psychokinesis work?

    Immediately after the operation resolves and is trashed from playing it, "after you resolve this operation" triggers meet their trigger condition. Ending the action phase then advances the game to the discard phase. This skips the paid ability window that would normally follow the end of an action, ceases the resolution of any other pending abilities or effects, and invalidates any conditional abilities. If the operation was played as part of a card ability, any remaining effects from that card ability immediately stop resolving as well.

    If the Corp plays Psychokinesis as the first operation for Subcontract, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Psychokinesis. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Subcontract is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing of a second operation with Subcontract. The played Subcontract is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

    If the Corp plays Psychokinesis as one of the operations looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of Psychokinesis. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Accelerated Diagnostics is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing or trashing of any remaining cards looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics. The played Accelerated Diagnostics is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

Net Quarantine ( Quorum, 114)

  • UFAQ [Micahel Boggs]

    Does the base link strength reduction include any link from installed cards?

    Yes.

    When the first trace on a turn occurs with Net Quarantine scored, do cloud breakers then cost MU (and subsequently must be trashed if the Runner is over their memory limit)?

    No. Net Quarantine reduces the Runner’s base link strength, which is the strength the Runner starts a trace with not the Runner’s current link.

Bryan Stinson ( Quorum, 117)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Corp plays Paywall Implementation with Bryan Stinson, does it get removed from the game? If so, when? What if the Runner trashes Bryan Stinson before an agenda is stolen or another current is played?

    Paywall Implementation will be removed from the game instead of trashed whenever it would normally get trashed: once an agenda is stolen or another current is played. Once Bryan Stinson’s ability is triggered, it exists independently of Bryan Stinson, so Paywall Implementation will still be removed from game instead of being trashed even if Bryan Stinson is trashed before that happens.

    If the Corp plays a terminal transaction with Bryan Stinson, such as Violet Level Clearance, does it still get removed from the game?

    Yes. “After you resolve this operation” does not meet its trigger condition until the operation is trashed following its resolution, so the operation resolves, is removed from the game instead of being trashed, and then the game immediately advances to discard phase.

NASX ( Quorum, 118)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Corp spends 1 after playing Hedge Fund, do they place 1 power counter on NASX or 9?

    The Corp places 1 power counter on NASX. "That many power counters" refers to the number of credits "up to 2" that the Corp spends using the ability.

    Does NASX trigger before or after the credits are gained? For example, if the Corp plays Beanstalk Royalties with an empty credit pool, can they use NASX at all?

    NASX triggers after the credits are gained, so after playing Beanstalk Royalties the Corp can spend those credits for the NASX ability.

    Does taking credits from a card (e.g. Corporate Sales Team) trigger NASX?

    No. Taking credits from a card is not the same as gaining credits.

    Does moving credits from Sealed Vault to the Corp's credit pool trigger NASX?

    No. Moving credits from a card into your credit pool is not the same as gaining credits.

Macrophage ( Quorum, 119)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the first subroutine on Macrophage resolves and the trace is successful, but there are no virus counters hosted on cards and no cards that will be trashed from the purge effect, does the Corp still lose 2 from Fester?

    Yes. Subroutines that are not broken must resolve, even if they will not have any direct effect on the game state.

Pushing the Envelope ( Daedalus Complex, 1)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner draws cards so they have 3 or more in grip during the run initiated by Pushing the Envelope, do installed icebreakers lose the +2 strength?

    No. The ability of Pushing the Envelope takes effect when the event is played.

    If the Runner installs another icebreaker during a run initiated by Pushing the Envelope (e.g. Paperclip from heap), does it have +2 strength?

    No. Pushing the Envelope’s effect occurs when the event is played, so only icebreakers installed at that time will get the strength boost. [UFAQ, Michael Boggs]

Maw ( Daedalus Complex, 2)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does Maw trigger when the Runner accesses but does not trash an upgrade installed in the root of Archives?

    Yes. Cards in the root of Archives are not considered in Archives.

    If the Runner uses Salsette Slums to remove a trashed card from the game, does Maw trigger?

    No, Maw does not trigger. In order to use Salsette Slums, the Runner must trash the accessed card.

    How does Maw work if the Runner accesses more than one card from HQ during a single access step (e.g. through Legwork)?

    The first of the accesses from HQ that the Runner does not steal or trash triggers Maw. Before continuing accessing cards, the Corp trashes a card from HQ at the same time, which can include a card already accessed during this access step. As a best practice, resolve HQ accesses by placing all the cards in HQ facedown on the table. Thus, the Runner can flip cards faceup to access them, as well as roll a die or use some other method to select a random card to perform another type of effect (such as trashing with Maw).

Bio-Modeled Network ( Daedalus Complex, 6)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner prevent all of the first instance of net damage in a turn using both Net Shield and Bio-Modeled Network?

    Yes. The Runner can trash Bio-Modeled Network, preventing all but the first damage, then pay 1 using Net Shield to prevent that damage.

NEXT Wave 2 ( Daedalus Complex, 9)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Corp use Bifrost Array or 24/7 News Cycle to trigger the ability on NEXT Wave 2?

    No, NEXT Wave 2 does not have an explicit “when scored” ability on it because its ability has an additional condition.

Kakugo ( Daedalus Complex, 13)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does Kakugo trigger if it is trashed during an encounter?

    No. The encounter ends immediately when Kakugo is trashed, but then it is no longer active and thus its ability cannot trigger.

SYNC BRE ( Daedalus Complex, 15)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    How long does the effect of the second trace on SYNC BRE last?

    Designer's Note: Technically, as SYNC BRE is written this effect lasts until the end of the game, but it should read: "Trace2 - if successful, the Runner accesses 1 fewer card whenever he or she accesses cards for the remainder of the run."

    If SYNC BRE’s second trace resolves during a run on Archives, how will the access step be affected?

    Just like normal, the Corp flips all facedown cards in Archives faceup, then the Runner accesses cards in the order of their choice. The Runner will not be able to access the last card, so in practice this means the Runner chooses a card to not access.

    If SYNC BRE’s second trace resolves during a run on a remote server, how will the access step be affected? What if there are multiple cards installed in the server?

    Just like normal, the Runner chooses the order they will access the cards installed in the remote server. If there is only one card installed in the remote server, then the Runner does not access that card. If there are multiple cards installed in the remote server, the Runner chooses and accesses one card from the remote server at a time. The Runner will not be able to access the last card, so in practice this means the Runner chooses a card to not access.

    If SYNC BRE’s second trace resolves during a run on a central server that has upgrades installed in its root, how will the access step be affected?

    Just like normal, the Runner chooses the order of accesses from among accessing the central server and accessing the root. The Runner picks one at a time, but will not be able to access the last card. For example, if the Runner plays Maker’s Eye and there is a Hokusai Grid installed in the root of R&D, the Runner can either

    (A) Access three cards in a row from R&D, not accessing Hokusai Grid

    (B) Access two cards from R&D, access Hokusai, and not access a third card from R&D

    (C) Access one card from R&D, access Hokusai, access a second card from R&D, and not access a third card from R&D

    (D) etc.

    If SYNC BRE’s second trace resolves during a run initiated by Information Sifting, how is the access step resolved?

    Just like normal, the Corp separates HQ into two piles, the Runner chooses one of the piles, and then the Runner accesses one card at a time from the chosen pile. The Runner will not be able to access the last card in the pile.

Jemison Astronautics: Sacrifice. Audacity. Success. ( Daedalus Complex, 16)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Corp place the advancement tokens from the ability on Jemison Astronautics onto multiple cards?

    No, all the advancement tokens must be placed on the same card.

    If the Corp, playing as Jemison Astronautics, forfeits Hostile Takeover hosting Political Graffiti, how many advancement tokens do they place on a card?

    The Corp places 1 advancement token on a card, 1 for the ability and no additional tokens because the Hostile Takeover was worth 0 agenda points when it was forfeited.

    If the Corp forfeits a card that becomes an agenda, such as "Clones are not People", how many advancement tokens can Jemison place on a card?

    The Corp places 2 advancement tokens on the card, 1 for the ability and an additional 1 for the agenda point “Clones are Not People” was worth.

Quarantine System ( Daedalus Complex, 17)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    The Corp, playing Jemison Astronautics, uses Quarantine System to forfeit a Hostile Takeover. What is the exact order of operations, and how much discount does the Corp receive for rezzing an Asteroid Belt?

    The trigger for Jemison Astronautics is the forfeiting of the agenda. As this is a chain reaction, Jemison must resolve before Quarantine System, so the Corp places 2 advancement tokens on a card, which can be placed on Asteroid Belt. Then, Quarantine System resolves and rezzes one piece of ice at a time. If the Asteroid Belt receives the advancement tokens from Jemison, then the total rez cost of the Asteroid Belt is 1: 9 printed rez cost, 6 discounted for having 2 advancement tokens, and 2 discounted for the printed agenda point on the forfeited Hostile Takeover.

    If the Corp forfeits a card that becomes an agenda for Quarantine System, such as "Clones are not People", how much is the discount for rezzing the ice?

    The rez cost of the three pieces of ice will not be lowered by any amount, as cards that are turned into agendas do not have any agenda points printed on them.

Severnius Stim Implant ( Station One, 21)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    When does the Runner trash cards to use Severnius Stim Implant?

    The cards are trashed as the run is initiated.

    After using Severnius Stim Implant, does the Runner access additional cards from that server in later runs or card abilities?

    No. The number of cards trashed can only be referenced by the ability itself during the run initiated by that ability.

Counter Surveillance ( Station One, 23)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner uses Counter Surveillance to run on R&D, but they have fewer credits than tags by the time the run is successful, what happens?

    The Runner cannot pay the full cost, so the Runner’s access step is replaced with accessing no cards.

    If the Runner uses Eater during a run initiated by Counter Surveillance, what happens?

    The effect on Counter Surveillance is required, so the Runner pays the credits but then accesses no cards.

    If the Runner uses Counter Surveillance to run on R&D, can they distribute the accesses as they choose among cards in R&D and upgrades installed in the root of R&D?

    No. Counter Surveillance only allows the Runner to access cards from the attacked server, and cards in the root of central servers are not in those central servers.

    If the Runner uses Counter Surveillance to run on R&D with two tags and an R&D Interface installed, how many cards does the Runner access from R&D?

    The Runner pays 2 credits to access three cards from R&D.

Möbius ( Station One, 24)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    When does the Runner gain credits from Möbius?

    The Runner gains 4 from Möbius as soon as the second run is considered to be successful.

System Seizure ( Station One, 26)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does the icebreaker affected by System Seizure hold its strength only during the run when System Seizure is triggered, or during every run that turn?

    The icebreaker only holds its strength until the end of the run System Seizure was triggered.

    While System Seizure is active, how long does the strength boost of an icebreaker last if the Runner boosts its strength outside of a run?

    If boosted outside of a run, its strength resets to base immediately, just like Gordian Blade and other icebreakers that hold their strength until the end of the run.

    While System Seizure is active, if the first time the Runner increases the strength of an icebreaker is from installing one while LLDS Processor is installed, how long does the +1 strength last?

    Any additional strength applied from installed LLDS Processors last until the end of the turn. If the Runner boosts the strength of that icebreaker during a run through other means, those strength boosts last until the end of the run.

Customized Secretary ( Station One, 27)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    When the Runner installs a program from Customized Secretary, does it remain hosted?

    No, the program moves off of Customized Secretary and is installed in the rig as usual.

Seidr Adaptive Barrier ( Station One, 29)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Does Seidr Adaptive Barrier have +1 strength from itself?

    Yes.

Bloom ( Station One, 32)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Where does the Corp install the ice for Bloom's second subroutine?

    The ice is installed in the position closer to the server than Bloom where the Runner would approach it after passing Bloom.

    If the Corp uses Wormhole to resolve Bloom's first subroutine, where can the Corp install the ice?

    "Another server" refers to a server that Bloom is not currently protecting.

    If the Corp uses Wormhole to resolve Bloom's second subroutine, where can the Corp install the ice?

    The ice is installed exactly as directed: in the next innermost position from Bloom protecting the same server as Bloom.

MCA Informant ( Station One, 36)

  • UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    How does "After you resolve this operation, end your action phase." on terminal operations like MCA Informant work?

    Immediately after the operation resolves and is trashed from playing it, "after you resolve this operation" triggers meet their trigger condition. Ending the action phase then advances the game to the discard phase. This skips the paid ability window that would normally follow the end of an action, ceases the resolution of any other pending abilities or effects, and invalidates any conditional abilities. If the operation was played as part of a card ability, any remaining effects from that card ability immediately stop resolving as well.

    If the Corp plays MCA Informant as the first operation for Subcontract, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of MCA Informant. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Subcontract is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing of a second operation with Subcontract. The played Subcontract is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

    If the Corp plays MCA Informant as one of the operations looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics, what happens?

    The game advances to the discard phase following the resolution and trashing of MCA Informant. The paid ability window that would normally follow the action of playing Accelerated Diagnostics is skipped, and no pending abilities or triggers are resolved - including the playing or trashing of any remaining cards looked at by Accelerated Diagnostics. The played Accelerated Diagnostics is immediately trashed by the game because its resolution is ceased and considered complete.

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Corp install MCA Informant on a rezzed Corporate Troubleshooter? An unrezzed Corporate Troubleshooter?

    Yes and yes. If the Corp installs MCA Informant on an unrezzed Corporate Troubleshooter, they must reveal the Troubleshooter to the Runner to confirm that it has the connection subtype.

    If the Corp installs MCA Informant on a Corporate Troubleshooter, does the Runner have access to the click ability to trash it?

    No. The ability is on the Corporate Troubleshooter, so it is only available to the Corp as an action. The Runner must trash the Corporate Troubleshooter while accessing it or through a card ability.

    While MCA Informant is installed as a condition counter, can the tag be removed if the Runner has no tag tokens?

    No. The Runner is considered to have an additional tag, but it cannot be manipulated by card abilities.

Sacrifice ( Station One, 39)

  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    If the Corp forfeits a Project Beale with an agenda counter on it when they play Sacrifice, how much bad publicity can they remove?

    The Corp removes three bad publicity as the Project Beale was worth three agenda points. If the Corp has less than three bad publicity, they remove all the bad publicity they have and gain that many credits.

    Can the Corp play Sacrifice if they have no bad publicity?

    No. The effect of Sacrifice does not have the potential to change the game state, so it cannot be initiated.