A solid piece of ice, with a couple of conditions.

  1. Is every Runner in your meta packing Paperclip?
  2. Are you playing a glacier deck?

If you answered "yes" to both questions, then this is the ice for you. With Paperclip breaking barriers more efficiently than Corroder, Seidr Adaptive Barrier is a good contender against Eli 1.0 to tax the Runner out.

Against Eli 1.0, Paperclip will usually cost 3 to break (or 2 with a Datasucker token).

Against Seidr, Paperclip will cost 3 to break if there's another ice besides Seidr protecting the same server. Every single ice on top of that just makes it's more taxing for Paperclip. The extra 1 rez cost compared to Eli 1.0 is also offset by the fact that you can't click through Seidr.

Seidr also happens to have exactly the same amount of of influence as Eli 1.0, so decks that originally imported Eli 1.0 should consider replacing it with this.

You probably don't want to rez this card as an early game gearcheck, though. But that's what Vanilla is for.

127

A well designed card. It strengthens a somewhat niche strategy (advancable ice) in a somewhat niche faction () without either doing too little or going over the top.

Let's get the basics down:

  • 1 to rez. Cheap.
  • 4. Unless the runner plays [Whizzard(/en/card/02001) or Scrubber or other asset killers 4 is high enough to avoid being trashed unless the runner really sees Anson Rose as a threat.
  • 1 influence is great. But there isn't any non-Weyland ice that can be advanced so he only works with ice from his own faction.
  • Unique Asset. Vulnerable to Rumor Mill though with the MWL update that's no longer as big of a problem as before.
  • Must be rezzed in order to work (since you can only start putting counters on once he's rezzed). There is no element of surprise except which ice you're going to use him for.

There are several categories of cards he works with:

  • Strength-boostable barriers: Ice Wall, Fire Wall, Hadrian's Wall, Shadow. His main role here is to provide cheap strength. If you can put 5 extra counters on an ice wall that's a very cheap (1) but effective (6 strength, 1 sub) barrier. Note that with Shadow if you are able to win the trace Anson Rose can help a lot in making sure the subroutine with the trace actually resolves.
  • Sub-boostable barriers: possibly Salvage, Swarm, possibly Tyrant and possibly Woodcutter (see below for the "possibly"). Anson Rose adds subroutines. Tyrant with extra subs quickly becomes quite taxing (even if still pretty expensive). Woodcutter also becomes taxing and extremely dangerous to face check to boot (no installed killer or AI means lots of net damage).
  • Morph: Changeling, Lycan, Wendigo. You'll use at most 1 counter from Anson Rose for these but it does provide a nice bit of flexibility in choosing what subtype of ice you want at the moment the runner runs into it.
  • Space ice: Asteroid Belt, Nebula, Orion, Wormhole. I don't think Anson Rose actually works with these. See below.
  • Mausolus. If you can get 3 tokens on there it's just a much much stronger card that the runner will want to be careful about.
  • Searchlight. With sufficient counters the subs are actually scary. But by the time Anson Rose has enough counters for Searchlight the runner will be able to easily break a 2 sub 3 strength sentry.

Now to the "possibly". It's a matter of rule nitpicking and I haven't found any guidance on this in the official FAQ or UFAQ yet. Salvage, Tyrant and Woodcutter have the text "can be advanced only when rezzed". If you think of Anson Rose as working during the rez these don't apply. If you think of Anson Rose as working immediately after the rez they do. Since in general A:NR seems to fully play out things before starting on the next one I think the immediately-after explanation makes most sense. If I'm wrong please leave a comment because this is something I'm definitely not sure about.

Space ice is a similar situation. The advancement tokens determine rez cost but if Anson Rose takes effect after the rez the original cost must be paid. If you were to reason that Anson Rose takes effect during a rez and there's a point in time between announcing the rez and paying the cost where he could work then a reduced cost can be paid. Because I take the view for now that the rez is done before Anson Rose takes effect it follows that the original cost applies and thus Anson Rose doesn't help with space ice, no matter how nice that would be.

Is Anson Rose worth it? In a deck built around advancable ice I think he's pretty much an auto-include. Anywhere else he doesn't seem to be worth the deck slot.

64
Your reasoning about Salvage, Tyrant and Woodcutter is valid - you're not advancing ICE, you're just moving advancement tokens to it, so these definitely do work with Anson Rose. The funny thing is your ICE doesn't have to be advanceable in order to get Ansoned - you can move your counters to whatever you wish, be it Swordsman, Turing or Data Raven. —

You know what happens if you leave an Ice Wall on the board with Anson Rose piling up the tokens for a few turns?

You get the Great Wall of Weyland.

It's an annoyingly effective two-card combo, keeping a one-cred piece of ice relevant even way late into the game.

104
I'd like to give this review a "like", but the button appears broken. :< —
Same for me! I opened an issue on github —
A workaround is to click the like button on the review on the card page itself. Somehow that does work. —
Aha! It really does. Time to get to liking stuff. —

The usual reviews for this have gone up for this particularly good piece of ice, albeit in specific situations (when the runner is using virus cards). So now, I'll talk about a hilarious weakness I found for this ice, as a runner, while I was running a Medium. Note to corps, look out for this card combination:

  1. As the runner, I had two Power Taps installed (3rd one still to be drawn)
  2. I had two Festers out
  3. I had a Medium installed, corp installed Macrophage over R&D to keep me out!
  4. I ran R&D 4 times, only beating the trash virus program trace
  5. I drained 16 s from the corp when they repeatedly purged viruses
  6. I gained 32 s (minus beating the trash virus program trace) on these runs through Power Taps

A peculiar situation, but hilarious should you find yourself in it as the Runner, and soul destroying as the Corp.

P.S. It's possible I got the exact math wrong, but basically you drain the corp a lot, and you gain a bunch of credits.

20
I guess it can generally be said that rezzing tracer ICE against Power Tap is not necessariy a good idea. —

So, this card is now on MWL-3, which is as close to an official ban list as we can get without getting an official ban-list. It is the only Corp card put in that category, which mostly includes Anarch "No You Do Not Get To Play This Game At All" toys such as Sifr (a card so foul that the code does not want to link it properly) and Rumor Mill (or The Glacier's Melt, featuring kittens). Why? What made Sensie so powerful, no, so degenerate, that it warranted itself such fine company among Netrunner's vilest?

Full disclosure here: I am a pretty new player. So, up until very recently, I have wondered about that myself. I have wondered why do you hear that if you allow Sensie to fire more than once, you have probably lost the game. So, I went and asked and learned, and now I will pass it forward. And you, who are experienced, correct me if I am spreading disinformation.

Sensie Actor Union, as a card, was one of the keypieces of the most deranged asset spam type decks. Such decks rely on getting a "critical mass" of assets out on the field, so that the Runner can't keep up with clearing them, both economically and just click-wise. When that happens, the game is going to snowball incredibly hard in Corp's favour, baring lucky HQ or R&D agenda snipes which can allow the Runner to snatch victory out of jaws of getting suffocated by about one million assets.

Sensie helps with both, immensely. First, it will allow the Corp to power-draw into other assets it needs. Three cards is a lot, and this draw is both free (0 to rez) and doesn't really consume clicks past install. This is what Anonymous Tip wishes it would be, or would wish if it was allowed within five miles of the glory that is Sensie. Filthy prole. So yes. Power draw, power draw forever.

But wait, there is more! It does not only draw. It fixes your HQ. One of the drawbacks of drawing loads as a Corp is that you are going to draw into your agendas, and they are vulnerable when in HQ. This is especially true of light-on-ICE asset spam, which generally does not pack enough security to prevent the Runner from accessing HQ. But with Sensie, that is not a problem. Because this allows you to send an agenda - which does not even have to be one of the cards you drew with it - to the bottom of R&D where it is about as safe as it is going to get, because barring shuffles (or Showing Off, but who plays that?), the Runner is not going to see it again. So all those Vanity Projects or, hell, Global Food Initiatives are secured better than behind a glacier of ice. And so the asset spam continues unimpeded, because it has everything it needs to strangle the life (and joy) out of the poor Runner. And if the Runner insists on trashing this, well, there are always Friends in High Places. Fun times.

But perhaps most sinister is the fact that the effect is very innocent-looking. A new(ish) player such as me will lose against this card not only because they don't understand the power hidden behind (plus, being taught that Anonymous Tip, they are probably going to go "well how bad AT on a stick is going to be?" while there are scarier things out there to trash), but also will not understand how failing to trash it contributed to his painful defeat. The card is obscenely powerful and very sneaky about it. And therefore, it is good for us and the future generation of ANR players that it is almost as good as gone.