Launch Campaign

Launch Campaign 1[credit]

Asset: Advertisement
Trash: 2
Influence: 0

Place 6[credit] from the bank on Launch Campaign when it is rezzed. When there are no credits left on Launch Campaign, trash it.

When your turn begins, take 2[credit] from Launch Campaign.

Illustrated by Elisabeth Alba
Decklists with this card

Data and Destiny (dad)

#27 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
Rulings

No rulings yet for this card.

Reviews

Another superb card for Spark Agency: Worldswide Reach decks, it pays for itself in terms of credit differential when rezzed during the runner's turn. The fact that it only costs one credit to rez makes it a prime target for Ad Blitz plays.

From the runner's perspective, they (usually) lose a credit via the ID when it rezzes, and then another two when it is trashed. If not trashed meanwhile, it eventually generates a further six credits for the corp. As such the runner may be inclined to trash it on sight.

However, this outcome is acceptable for the corp as it nets a two credit differential. Also, once Ad Blitz brings multiple copies back into play, the runner may lose their appetite to trash it again!

Finally, the card is suitable to fake out as an agenda, as the downside risk is not huge. This may be done in order to see the runner's reaction to a remote server install, or else to force them to run through a series of expensive ice to generate a credit advantage.

(Data and Destiny era)
54
But how does it play in other decks? If I can't splash adonis campaign, is this a fair substitute? Or is it too short lived? —
It pairs well with other sources of econ, either asset or operation. I'm running 2x of these with 3 Melange and a whole bunch of operation econ in my Stronger Together deck with great success. —

This little asset is often used in asset spam that aim to rush. Since it gives credits as soon as you start it, it is always credit positive on the first turn.

But there are three identities that profit from Launch Campaign : Spark Agency: Worldswide Reach, NBN: Controlling the Message and Ob Superheavy Logistics: Extract. Export. Excel.. For Spark, it simply trigger the ID ability, thus taxing the runner that little bit more. For CtM, it encourage the runner to come and trash the asset, thus taxing them more at no expense for the corp. But Ob can really leverage this asset.

If Svyatogor Excavator is on the board, Ob can get 2 from it and then trash it for 3 (total gain of 4 on the first turn, or 5 on any subsequent turn) and tutor a 0-cost card on the board (like Spin Doctorm Rashida Jaheem or Prisec). Even without Svyatogor Excavator, when Launch Campaign trashes itself, Ob can still tutor a 0-cost card. Quite good!

Otherwise, this asset gives 1 more than a Hedge Fund, at the condition that it survive on the board long enough.

I wish I understood what is the reference for "Astrobar". It seems to be some kind of depiction of launching a product from the moon. No quote or lore coming with the card however. It could have been much better.

(Parhelion era)
4031