ICE: Barrier • Rez: 3 • Strength: 1 • Influence: 3

When the Runner breaks a printed subroutine on this ice, they lose 1credit.

subroutine End the run unless the Runner pays 3credit.

subroutine End the run unless the Runner pays 3credit.

[Pay 15 gems to access this content]
NBN • N. Hopkins • Uprising 116
All sets:
Links: Decklists | ANCUR
Gold Farmer
MWL Entries

No MWL Entries for this card.

Rulings
  • NISEI Uprising Release Notes [NISEI Rules Team]

    If the Runner breaks both subroutines on Gold Farmer with a single ability, such as Paperclip's ability, how many credits do they lose?

    The Runner will lose 2[c]. Gold Farmer's trigger condition is met for each subroutine that is broken, regardless of which or how many abilities are used to break them.

    If the Runner breaks both subroutines on Gold Farmer by using Corroder's ability twice, and then trashes Gold Farmer with Hippo, do they still lose 2[c]?

    As long as the encounter is happening during the Runner's turn, they will only lose 1[c]. The first use of Corroder to break a subroutine will meet Gold Farmer's trigger condition, resulting in the Runner losing 1[c] as normal. Then the Runner will receive priority again and can use Corroder to break the other subroutine. Once this happens, the abilities from Hippo and Gold Farmer both become pending in the same reaction window. The active player has the first opportunity to trigger pending abilities, so Hippo can trash Gold Farmer before the Corp has the opportunity to trigger their ability. Once Gold Farmer is uninstalled, the pending ability is no longer active, so the Corp is unable to trigger it even after they get priority.

    If this scenario happens on the Corp's turn, then the Corp will be able to trigger and resolve Gold Farmer's ability the second time before the Runner has the opportunity to trigger Hippo, so the Runner will lose a total of 2[c].

    In the previous scenario, what happens if the Runner uses Paperclip instead of Corroder and breaks both subroutines at the same time?

    Both instances of Gold Farmer's ability will be pending in the same reaction window as Hippo's ability. So on the Runner's turn, they can trash Gold Farmer first and avoid losing any credits. On the Corp's turn, they will still lose 2[c].

Reviews

I would like clarification on the text of this card. If an icebreaker would break 2 subroutines at once, does "When the Runner breaks a printed subroutine on this ice, they lose 1credit" fire one time or two times?

(Uprising era)

It fires twice even if you used something like Tycoon to break 2 subroutines at once.

^ What they said

Remember the #Hippo/Cutlery/#Ankusa exception too - the moment you break the last sub with one of those, you trash the ice, which prevents the effect from firing.

On Paperclip it also fires twice. If you Hippo it with Paperclip, it doesn't fire at all.