Hippo

Hardware • Install: 2 • Influence: 5

The first time you break all subroutines on the outermost piece of ice during a run each turn, you may remove Hippo from the game to trash that piece of ice.

Getting it up the stairs was enough for him to know that if he ever moved, it was staying.
Anarch • Juan Novelletto • Kampala Ascendent 103
All sets:
Links: Decklists | ANCUR
Hippo
MWL Entries

No MWL Entries for this card.

Rulings
  • ANCUR UFAQ 24 [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner trash Mirāju with Hippo? If they do, are they moved to Archives?

    Yes, Hippo can be used after breaking the subroutine on Mirāju, and the Runner will not be moved to Archives. Mirāju's ability checks whether the Runner broke its printed subroutine at the time they would pass it (Step 4 of the run). Since Hippo's ability triggers as soon as all subroutines are broken (in step 3.1), Mirāju is no longer active in order to replace passing with moving to Archives.

Reviews

Great card! Especially useful against Miraju and Kakugo out of Jinteki. Allows you to smash a Corp's piece of ICE for one click and two credits, plus whatever it costs to break. 5 Influence means that you'll never see this card outside of Anarch, and that's probably good. As of writing, this sees a lot of use, especially with Khumalo, Laamb, and Yusuf.

(System Core 2019 era)
It's important to note the downsides of this card as well - only works on the outermost ice and can't be recurred (a la Parasite). —