Divide and Conquer

Divide and Conquer 3[credit]

Event: Run
Influence: 4

Run Archives. If successful, after breaching Archives, breach HQ, then breach R&D. You cannot access cards in the root of HQ or R&D during these breaches.

All roads lead to Rome.
Illustrated by Adam S. Doyle
Decklists with this card

Reign and Reverie (rar)

#2 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
  • Updated 2022-05-27

    ANCUR UFAQ 24 [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner access upgrades installed in the root of R&D or HQ with Divide and Conquer?


    What happens if the Runner uses The Turning Wheel during a run made with Divide and Conquer?

    Because Runner must choose whether they wish to access an additional card from either R&D or HQ each time they use The Turning Wheel, each use of The Turning Wheel will only affect one of the accesses from Divide and Conquer.

    What happens if the Runner plays Divide and Conquer after an unsuccessful trace from Black Hat?

    The Runner accesses two additional cards from each of R&D and HQ. If the trace from Black Hat is unsuccessful, it sets up a floating conditional ability that triggers whenever the Runner accesses a card from either R&D or HQ.

    If the Runner replaces Accessing Archives with another effect (e.g. installing Hades Shard, do they still access a card from HQ then R&D?


    Audited by NISEI Rules (2022.05).

  • Updated 2022-06-09

    NISEI [NISEI Rules Team Update]

    If the Runner plays Divide and Conquer with an Aumakua installed, how many times does Aumakua trigger?

    Aumakua will trigger up to three times, once for each server breached with no cards trashed or stolen.

    Updated (2022.05).

  • Updated 2023-10-01

    If the threat level is 3 or greater and the Runner uses Divide and Conquer to breach HQ, will Eru Ayase-Pessoa allow them to access an additional card?


  • Updated 2023-10-04

    How does Mercury: Chrome Libertador interact with Divide and Conquer?

    The Runner may choose to access an additional card from HQ or R&D, but not both.


An extremely powerful card at even the worst of times. For the cost of 3 credits and a click you get to not only check archives and keep the corp honest, you also get to see a card from HQ and R&D for your trouble. As icing up archives is usually not a priority for the corp, you will likely get in with little to no issues, and have the value of a run on all three centrals for just 1 click.

The real kicker though, the one everyone is talking about, is that this card works in combination with The Turning Wheel. Build up counters over the course of the game, and when you are ready to win, play D&C for a huge access on both HQ and R&D, giving your counters double the value for a fraction of the cost, provided archives is easy to get into. Also synergizes with Black Hat, so Sunny can fire that and then use this card to immediately see the top 3 cards of R&D and 3 cards in HQ. A costly turn, but potentially game winning on itself.

The mere existence of this card means corps will have to return to properly icing all three central servers, such as during the heyday of Tem├╝jin Contract, lest they want to lose to this card.

(Reign and Reverie era)
We need a ruling on that 'double the value' for your TTW counters... 2 TTW give you an additional access on RnD OR HQ. Not RnD AND HQ. —
I have seen it ruled differently, but I agree we need a ufaq on this, pronto —
The way it is worded, I'd say it works with both, as it says 'for the reminder of this run'. This is ridiculous. —
This card is going to Divide the playerbase and Conquer the meta, that's for sure. —
You had to say it, hadn't you? —
There's an existing unofficial ruling on this from Jacob Morris here http://7tr.in/ANR/divide-and-conquer.png —
During play at jinteki.net, we encountered a problem where I use blackhat and divide and conquer end up i access 3 card from hq while 5 card from R&D —
Weird. Are you sure there weren't any other factors at play? eXer? Nyashia? Akiko? —
Nope it is just black hat with divide and conquer . —
Hence we just assume that is the bug from jinteki.net but we would like to know is the ruling or bug —