Paricia

Paricia 0[credit]

Program
Memory: 1 • Strength: -
Influence: ○○○○

2recurring credit (When you install this card and before your turn begins, refill to 2 hosted credits.)

You can spend hosted credits to pay trash costs of assets.

A rising tide drowns all servers.
Illustrated by Zoe Cohen
Decklists with this card

System Update 2021 (su21)

#34 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
Rulings
  • What is the credit symbol with the arrow on Paricia and what does it do?

    That symbol means “recurring credits”, and it means that after a player installs (or rezzes, for Corp cards) the card it appears on, they should place the indicated number of credits on it (in Paricia’s case, 2 of them). Then, for as long as the card remains active, the player “refills” the card up to the indicated number of credits just before their turn begins. If there are already as many credits as the number indicated (or more), then no more credits will be added.

  • The wording on Paricia looks a little different. Has anything changed about how the Runner can spend its credits?

    Only the interaction with Salsette Slums has changed, and it is restored to the original state of that interaction before Salsette Slums received its first errata. The new wording for Paricia allows the Runner to spend its hosted credits when paying any cost that refers to an asset’s trash cost, including the basic trash ability and the current wording of Salsette Slums. While Political Operative previously used a wording that would be compatible with this requirement, it has never previously been able to work with Paricia, and so has received otherwise-nonfunctional errata to maintain this non-interaction.

Reviews

Today we're going to take a look at this corp's board. Nothing has birds on it, but you know what we're going to do?

We're going to put birds on things! Spruce it up, make it pretty.

What a sad little PAD Campaign. I know, I'll put a bird on it!

Did you see this PAD before? I didn't. Now there's a bird! It's flying, it's free! And the pad is gone for way cheaper.

(Old Hollywood era)
821

WARNING: A very important detail that is easy to miss with this card is that you can't use the credits to trash upgrades. So you CAN'T use this to trash SanSan City Grid or Ash 2X3ZB9CY or Crisium Grid or Bernice Mai. You CAN use it to trash Jackson Howard or Eve Campaign or Adonis Campaign tho.

So Paricia is certainly weaker than Scrubber. The fact that it takes up MU is an additional disadvantage. On the flip-side, it doesn't cost any money and, it's influence-free for Shapers and can be tutored up with Self-modifying Code.

It had also some popularity in the "Gamble for Days" Exile: Streethawk decks where you wound just churn those out onto a Scheherazade and pawn them next turn to a Aesop's Pawnshop for a 4-credit total with the additional advantage of being able to trash something cheaper in the meantime.

Otherwise not a Tier-1 card. But certainly worth considering as a meta call if you play Shaper and you are expecting an Asset-heavy meta.

(Old Hollywood era)
2780
I've made this very mistake. Definitely worth pointing out, thank you. —
I think this card is perfect for Hayley's free install. —
I certainly feel that it fits right in with the Shaper shifting rig style (which is sadly not played too often). If you see more people embracing Aesop's in faction then you will see more play of this. Something has to be said for gaining value and followed by raw economy. —
Now that team sponsorship is upon is, #paricia will have its day. —