Kuwinda K4H1U3

♦ Kuwinda K4H1U3 3[credit]

Asset: Bioroid
Trash: 3
Influence: 4

When your turn begins, you may trace[X], where X is equal to the number of hosted power counters. If successful, do 1 core damage and trash this asset. If unsuccessful, place 1 power counter on this asset.

Illustrated by Josh Corpuz
Decklists with this card

Council of the Crest (cotc)

#49 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)

No rulings yet for this card.


The dream is having multiples of this and having it fire every time, maybe even recurring it to get the runner down to a tiny hand size and then having them run into a Snare! or die to 1 Neural EMP. One can dream.

In practice though, this card can only be classified as jank. First off, small amounts of brain damage is negligible to most runners. Many even are willing to take 1 brain damage for 9 credits. You need to be able to fire this off consistently. But how? It starts off with trace 0 on the turn you rez it. That means that unless you can afford to boost the trace after rezzing this for 3, it is not doing anything unless this sticks around for several turns, acquiring counters. And during that time, the runner needs to ignore this. If this in a heavily defended remote, you are very likely not scoring anything and letting agendas pile up in HQ. If it isn't, 3 is a reasonable enough trash cost that most runners can afford to get rid of it immediately. This is maybe the one time where I would have been OK with rez/trash cost similar to Jeeves. Also, if you are facing a runner with any sort of link, this card gets progressively worse, giving them more time to deal with this or forcing you to put money into the trace to make it fire.

Never mind the fact that corp recursion is a lot harder than it used to be. If Friends in High Places was still around, I could see this card being somewhat more relevant, but luckily it isn't. So you need to run 3 of this AND be rich to have it make any impact. And build your entire deck around it. Could it potentially work? Sure, but considering that there are better ways of getting brain damage off, I don't see why you would run this for anything other than lulz.

At the very least, it is nice they are throwing brain damage decks a bone. Could have been a bigger one though.

(Council of the Crest era)
On a note related only to your last sentence, I still don't see why https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/12090 didn't do a brain damage. —
Same, what a misse opportunity —
It is unique. —
I did not mean multiples rezzed at the same time, I just meant getting this off more than once. Which is almost impossible imo. —
If you splash Surveillance Sweep you can either get it to fire more consistently or you can drain the runner of credits. —
Surveillance Sweep only triggers on traces during a run, so that won't work. —