Cerebral Overwriter

Cerebral Overwriter 0[credit]

Asset: Ambush
Trash: 0
Influence: 2

You can advance this asset.

When the Runner accesses this asset while it is installed, you may pay 3[credit] to do X core damage. X is equal to the number of hosted advancement counters.

Illustrated by Ed Mattinian
Decklists with this card

Creation and Control (cac)

#9 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
  • Updated 2020-04-10

    NISEI Uprising Release Notes [NISEI Rules Team]

    This card is a reprint. Has anything changed about how Cerebral Overwriter works?

    Only in the most technical sense. The newly updated wording and the rules for nested costs in CR 1.4 indicate that the 3[c] in Cerebral Overwriter's second ability is a cost, which was not clear before. But the ability functions essentially as it always did.


Very similar to Jinteki's Project Junebug in terms of installation Edge of World in terms of payload.


Trick of Light: As a part of a fast advance strategy if the runner isn't biting this combo will allow those advancement tokens to be moved to an agenda, perhaps even opening a scoring window to score 3/2 agendas such as Project Vitruvius or Accelerated Beta Test out of hand in one turn.

Shipment from Kaguya & Shipment from SanSan could be used to advance Cerebral Overwriter to save s

With enough brain damage flat-line strategies that use cards such as Scorched Earth become more viable.

Jump start Cerebral Overwriter by installing in combo with Mushin No Shin perhaps install with some protective ice to make it suspiciously look like an agenda about to be scored, if the runner bites, corp gets to smile.

Recur Cerebral Overwriter with cards like Archived Memories, Architect an overscored Project Vitruvius etc to give this card even more action.


Free to rez like other traps

Can open up a flat-line win opportunity

Can tax the runner by enticing him to run on a fools errand


Corp will need to hold 3 in reserve in case the runner takes the bait in order for it to have any teeth

Must be both installed & advanced to have any potency, does no harm to runner if accesses while in R&D, HQ or archives

0 cost means it'll only surprise the runner once.


There is nothing new or novel about this card that we haven't seen in other cards. It continues to go along with HB's preference towards brain damage and so it is at home in many HB, Jinteki & even some Weyland decks (sorry NBN this card probably isn't really going to be your thing.) Maybe a bit expensive at two influence points which is why it is often looked over in favor of Aggressive Secretary which for the same costs could wipe out an entire rig for the runner which is often a more sure-fire strategy for discouraging the runner than a little brain damage.

--It just saddens me when I see cards with no reviews. If you appreciated this review, please give a heart and I'll be encouraged to write more.

(Data and Destiny era)
This is a good review, but I think it's worth mentioning the synergy with [Mushin No Shin](/en/card/05015), since it is a very popular combo in Cybernetics Division. —
Interns, Architect, Archived Memories, over-scored Project Vitruvius all mean you can surprise the runner with it more than once. —
Not sure why "Free to rez" is a pro... unless you are purposely using it as a deterrent in conjunction with "upgraded" World's Plaza [spoiled card, can't remember name]. —
Xanatos Gambit decks use it as protection for Shell Corporation. If you suspect or have seen Drive-By, rezzing it will keep the Shell Corporation secure. —
Thanks bubbathegoat and GrantZilla1979, I've updated the review to include your recommendations. —

I guess I wasn't expecting this to be saved from rotation. It's nice to see some of the older cards get saved and given a new lick of paint, so thanks for that, Nisei. I don't have a lot to say about Cerebral Overwriter, except that I think this version has a much cooler artwork. Nicely done, Krembler.

(Uprising era)