The Nihilist

♦ The Nihilist 4[credit]

Resource: Connection - Seedy
Influence: ●●●●●

The first time each turn you install a virus program, place 2 virus counters on this resource.

When your turn begins, you may remove any 2 virus counters from your installed cards. If you do, draw 2 cards unless the Corp trashes the top card of R&D.

"...well, I'm laughing."
Illustrated by Wyn Lacabra
Decklists with this card

Downfall (df)

#8 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
Printings
Downfall
Rulings
  • NISEI Downfall Release Notes [NISEI Rules Team]

    Can the Corp choose to trash the top card of R&D if R&D is empty to keep the Runner from drawing with The Nihilist?

    No. Since “unless” designates that trashing the top card of R&D is a nested cost (rule 1.15.10b), the Corp must trash a card to stop the Runner from drawing. If they do not trash a card, the Runner draws.

    If the Runner’s stack is empty, does The Nihilist force the Corp to trash the top card of R&D?

    No. Since “unless” designates trashing the top card of R&D as a nested cost (rule 1.15.10b), the Corp can choose not to pay that cost. In this case, “draw 2 cards” resolves but does nothing.

Reviews

I absolutely love the NISEI 'hommage' cards to retired runners and iconic rotated cards.

The Artist brought back Kate's exceptional ability to save a credit on your first program or hardware install, as well a once-per-turn Magnum Opus click.

The Class Act gives you Andromeda's 4-card boost as well as a once-per-turn Mr. Li deck filtering.

With The Nihilist, NISEI had a bigger challenge: merging Noise: Hacker Extraordinaire and Wyldside. While Kate and Andromeda's abilities were excellent, Noise's ability was meta-defining and bringing it back in full would have been a mistake. However, this card has a significant flaw compared to the two other hommage cards: it gives the choice of resolution to the corporation.

While it is a good virus counter gathering card for Freedom Khumalo, I see very little use of its secondary ability to trash a card. No corporation would accept trashing the top of R&D to simply block you from drawing two cards. I feel like if NISEI really wanted to bring us back to Wyldside, they could've given us a bit of pancakes for brekky.

How about a card that would read: "The first time each turn you install a virus program, place 2 virus counters on this resource.

When your turn begins, you may remove a virus counter from your installed cards and lose a click to draw two cards. If you do, gain a click unless the Corp trashes the top card of R&D."

This could make the second ability to fire a bit more without hurting the card draw too much, making this card stronger but not overpowered.

(Salvaged Memories era)

I have to start playing this card if there is no real choice and the runner just always gets to draw the 2 cards.