This is a card where you need to pay close attention to the psi game text:

"If you and the runner spent a different number of credits, the runner draws two cards"

Unusually, possibly uniquely, the corp wants to tie this. I leave the betting strategy as an exercise for the reader.


Let's be honest here, this is a one-of. Against a corp that has generally less but bigger ICE it's a mediocre draw engine. Against a corp with lots of smaller ICE, it's a pretty good draw engine.

But at and 2 influence there's no way you'd splash this over in faction card draw, and frankly the requirement is tricky even for Shaper.

There is one large caveat however. This ruins Thousand Cuts Jinteki. When half the cuts are healed before the wound even happens you're sitting pretty. So if that's giving you trouble and you need card draw and you're Shaper and you have the , (or at least most of those) it's worthy of some serious consideration.

That said it also works quite nicely with Faust, and given you're probably not running many other breakers alongside the dark lord the becomes less of an issue.

Oh god it just hit me, Silhouette Blackguard. Keep 'em poor by forcing them to res ICE and get free draw to keep the tempo up while you do it. —
If you're running this card just because of Jinteki PE, why not use Net Shield instead? —
I think most runner can avoid the flatline from thousand cuts PE, the real threat there comes from decking out and having nothing left to draw, which this card can't help with. As @yang573 notes, Net Shield is a better option to counter PE. —
I did say if PE is giving you trouble and you're shaper and you have the MU and you need card draw it's wothy of consideration. If you just hvae issues with PE of course go with Net Shield. —

I would just like to point out that it is now theoretically possible to tie a game. Harmony Medtech: Biomedical Pioneer. If the runner has six and the corp scores an agenda bringing them to six while knocking out the current, suddenly both sides have the required agenda points.

I think that the corp would still win before the current got trashed in the same way that the runner would still win if they stole the last agenda from Personal Evolution with no cards in hand. —
Those are two separate scenarios though. With PE - it is an issue of the PE trigger occuring AFTER the win condition for one player has been achieved. Here, that win condition has been achieved simultaneously by each player. (Due to the changing game state from a 'win' being 7, then changing to 6) Although I've no doubt there will be Word of God on this one way or the other... —
Simultaneous things don't exist in Netrunner. Effects are resolved one after the other, always. Active player has priority, thus their effects are first. I'm pretty sure Corp wins. —
Agree: active player takes priority, corp wins. Besides: if the runner played this card *before* he steals an (otherwise game-ending) agenda against Biomed, he deserves to loose anyway. —
Currents aren't trashed as active effects, they're a constant ability. They are removed straight away before triggers. Maybe the runner is on 6 and the corp is on 4, but the runner decides to play this to knock out a corp current. Then the corp scores a 2 pointer. Game ends in draw. —
Sorry, in my example, the runner would have to play it before they got to 6... obviously :P Ooops. Also, I'll add that Lukas has tweeted that this situation would lead to a tie, hopefully it'll make it to the first post-D&D FAQ. —
My feeling (and this is not based on the rules at all) is that either the runner should win because they got to six first even if it wasn't the limit at the time or play should continue until someone scores another agena. —
Also I can't see how it could possibly be a corp win. Either the effect triggers before the points are scored and the runner wins 6-3 (for sake of argument) or it triggers after, leaving the score at 6-6. What happens after that is certainly up for debate if it happens in that order, but it seems bizarre to say the least to give it to the corp at that point. —

At first glance this seems okay. Good rez to trash, annoying effect, fair influence. You dream of all the mean ice you can put in front of this and grin.

Then you start to notice the downsides. The runner gets to choose the trash. Any recursion makes it a minor annoyance rather than a game changer if it fires. The first jack-out window is after the first piece of ice, making this useless until the server is double iced. And how often do you jack out, anyway?

If you're playing against a Jinteki: Replicating Perfection, the answer is every turn you make a run. Suddenly the double ice requirement looks easy, and a minor annoyance is just fine if they have to run it over and over and over. And the runner that goes through all of your mean ice is going to have to spend 5 to trash it, which is good by itself, but when you consider that they likely couldn't also run a remote on the turn they did that, it just becomes absurd.

So, in RP they have a choice of A) having mean things happen to them, B) paying lots of money to avoid having mean things happen to them, or C) trashing an installed program while taking one ice's worth of A or B. The best part is that in order to have the privilege of spending 5 to trash something that cost you 2, they also have to do A or B.

Suddenly this is sounding broken. All that wonderful stuff for a mere 2 credits? Here's the rub: it's not 2 credits. It's 6. Because you need one one every central. And you need them double iced. That's nine cards. Yes, you can still put mean ice in front of your centrals without it, and you should, but without three of these rezzed on centrals the runner still only has to deal with a single piece of ice to do a remote run. Suddenly 5 to trash isn't looking like such a bad deal.

Now RP games tend to run long anyway, so it's not unreasonable to think you will manage to get three of these out fairly often, but that's three card slots you're dedicating to something that is essentially useless unless all of them are out. I say essentially useless because even with two out the runner will just hit the third central's first ice if they want to hit a remote, and probably weren't going to jack out anyway if they were running one of the servers with it.

You despair! All this fun stuff is just too fragile. But wait, you think. Recursion! Of course! Jackson Howard, Interns, and can get it back for free; Crick and Architect are ice that can install it from a subroutine. Susanoo-No-Mikoto is effectively a replacement for one (or even 2) of these as well, though extremely conditional.

In short, it's interesting. Which should be obvious given I just wrote seven paragraphs about a card with one ability.

I use Port As —
I use Port Anson as an alternative to Whirlpool when trying to initiate a Cell Portal/Komainu death loop, go through again or trash something. —
And it can work great on ambushes like Edge of World, instead of rezzing ICE you rez Port Anson and watch as the Runner suffers as they make their choice. —
I agree with most of this but the whole "you need 3, one for each central" point I find silly. Crick covers your Archives, and now you have two centrals. Make one of them ridiculous with Port Anson, and now all you need to do is beef up a single central. Hell, you can run Excalibur to shut down one of those, too. I tried Anson out when it was released. I found it tough to have my perfect central servers because you need very few ETRs. Tenma Line is probably fitting here. —
Ignoring Archives for now, say you have a Port Anson on HQ but not R&D. Runner's first run is against R&D, they deal with one piece of ice then jack out. They are then free to run on whatever they actually wanted to. —
This'll be a pain for Nero Severn —