Extract 3[credit]

Operation: Transaction
Influence: 2

Gain 6[credit]. You may trash 1 of your installed cards to gain 3[credit].

Leave nothing of value behind.
Illustrated by Vitalii Ostaschenko
Decklists with this card

Midnight Sun (ms)

#63 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
Midnight Sun

No rulings yet for this card.


I see that this card isn't getting talked about, and it's easy to see why, not a very exciting card by any means, but I will say that it has provided a lot of extra utility to my weyland decks as a way to remove a botulus from a server and get paid, it is basically just beanstalk if you don't trash, but if you need something gone or don't care about it now that the runner has a rig, might as well get paid.

(Midnight Sun era)

You can't use it on Botulus as it is not one of your installed cards.

Pretty sure he meant it as "getting rid of the ice with botulus" (you can do that for free during ice installation but with extract you get paid)

This is mainly for people that want to trash their own cards, but don't need this as a recurring effect. If you're in Ob, Svyatogor Excavator is probably more reliable long-term value.

Some situations for Extract:

  1. You're on Regenesis and need to get a stale agenda into Archives without making them suspicious enough to check archives. Convince yourself that it's really a Snare you're putting back in Archives so you can recur it later. It's more believable if it had been in a server with upgrades. It just looks like you want that server open for an eventual agenda.
  2. You have gearcheck ice or rez-effect ice or other ice which produce short-term value but relatively little long-term value. Once they've found a fracter, an ice like Wraparound only costs $1 to break. If you were thinking of installing over it anyway, you might as well get paid to get rid of it.
  3. You're on Ob and you may need to immediately search the deck for a card rather than install an Excavator and wait a turn, or can't count on an Excavator surviving the turn.
  4. You're on Nanisibirisk Grid and need to get an ice facedown into Archives without making them suspicious enough to check archives. Hansei Review is usually better for this (HR doesn't announce what kind of card gets discarded, doesn't require an install, and costs less influence).
(Parhelion era)

What a great card!

Normally, you get 3 and possibly 6 if you trash something.

So, is there something you could trash that combo with this? YES!

The best would be Marilyn Campaign, when it is on its last 2. This is like Aesop's Pawnshop trashing Daily Casts to gain a extra credit. Same principle apply here. Alternatively, you could do the same with Launch Campaign. Of course, in a pinch, you can do that to an unwanted or unrezzed ice or asset.

But it gets better.

If you are Ob Superheavy Logistics: Extract. Export. Excel., this card allow you to trigger you ID ability AND get 6. This card in nearly mandatory in every Ob Superheavy Logistics: Extract. Export. Excel. decks.

Or if you are Weyland Consortium: Building a Better World, you get either 4 or 7, at no cost of influence! What a bargain.

The art and quote exactly give the vibe of the Weyland faction : exploit and be rich.

(Midnight Sun era)