程序 • Install: 0 • Memory: 0 • Influence: 1

当先驱被销毁时,将其面朝下安装,代替加入你的堆阵。

尖峰 • Adam S. Doyle • 数据与命运 34
Links: Decklists | ANCUR
先驱
Rulings

No rulings yet for this card.

Reviews

With the release of Reaver, Harbinger now has a lot more utility outside of Apex decks. Any deck running Aesop's Pawnshop and Reaver should consider splashing another 3 influence to slot 3 Harbingers.

Installing 1 Harbinger for a click gives the runner 6 credits and 2 card draws over the next 2 turns once the engine is set up. Being a program, Harbinger also fires Technical Writer for an additional 1-3 credits to be collected when required. 1 click for 6-9 credits and 2 cards is pretty nuts, and Hayley goes one step further by allowing you to install 2 Harbingers in 1 click. That's 12-18 credits and 4 cards being drawn for a click (over 4 turns though). Using a Clone Chip to bring Harbinger back (making sure to fire the Clone Chip on the corps turn for that extra draw from Reaver) just makes sure Aesop is never out of stock.

On top of this, whilst Harbinger is waiting to be sold by Aesop, he acts as a great target if the corp forces the runner to trash an installed card (like Power shutdown).

7 influence for Reaver for 3 Harbingers out of Shaper is a steep ask, and you if you have to import Aesops too the total influence hits 13 which is something only Sunny would seriously consider.

17

So the obvious use of this card is to feed Apex's cards like Endless Hunger and Heartbeat. But it has a few other uses as well.

For Apex, it's probably his best defense against Power Shutdown. (Which would otherwise take a heavy toll on his Endless Hungers)

But outside of Apex, it can serve a different purpose - when comboed with Aesop's Pawnshop, it's worth 3. Twice. Cards that you can play for 0, and that give you equivalent returns to Lucky Find are pretty rare. (Without being a double, and for half the influence, to boot!) You can bump it up even further with Wasteland.

393

The idea behind Harbinger is that it can be trashed twice by cards that need installed card trashing to fuel their abilities, like Endless Hunger: the first time you turn it facedown, the second time it goes to your heap.

You also want to make sure you have a Harbinger out before you run with Endless Hunger on the board, if you're anticipating an X=0 Power Shutdown.

Does Harbinger work with Faust? This is the same sort of thing that Tri-maf Contact deals with, and in that case, if you trash the Tri-maf from your hand then you don't take the damage since it isn't in play beforehand. Precedent says that the same thing would happen here: Harbinger gets trashed from grip and goes straight to heap. —
Harbinger does NOT work with Faust. Unless the card effect necessitates it (like I've Had Worse) cards in players' hands are not active. —
Sorry for the confusion on Faust. I've updated my review to specify "installed card trashing" and not mention Faust. —
Is it still a 0 cost card for power shutdown when its face down? —
No, it would no longer be eligible as a target for Power Shutdown since it is neither a program nor hardware when facedown. A flipped Harbinger will not protect your Endless Hunger. —