Strike Fund

Strike Fund 1[credit]

Event
Influence: 1

Gain 4[credit].

When this event is trashed from your grip or stack, you may gain 2[credit].

"If you want to put your money where your mouth is, there are some picketers who could use your support."
Illustrated by Phill Simpson
Decklists with this card

The Automata Initiative (tai)

#1 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
Rulings
  • Updated 2023-10-01

    When the Runner plays Strike Fund, is it trashed from their grip?

    No, it is trashed from the play area. When the Runner plays Strike Fund, they will only resolve its first ability, gaining 4.

  • Updated 2023-10-01

    Does the Runner gain credits from Strike Fund when it is discarded to meet their maximum hand size?

    No, discarded cards are not considered trashed.

  • Updated 2023-10-01

    How does Buffer Drive interact with Strike Fund?

    Both cards' conditional abilities meet their trigger conditions at the same time, and the Runner can choose to resolve either one first. If they choose to resolve Buffer Drive's ability first and put Strike Fund on the bottom of the stack, they will not be able to resolve Strike Fund’s ability because that ability is no longer active once its source leaves the heap. If they choose to resolve Strike Fund’s ability first, they will still be able to use Buffer Drive’s ability after gaining 2c.

  • Updated 2023-10-01

    What happens if Strike Fund is on top of the Runner's stack and they play Labor Rights?

    Each sentence on Labor Rights is an instruction, and other abilities that meet their trigger conditions have the opportunity to resolve between instructions. Labor Rights will trash the top 3 cards of the stack, including Strike Fund, then Strike Fund's ability will trigger and the Runner may gain 2. Then the Runner shuffles 3 cards from the heap into the stack, which could include the just-trashed copy of Strike Fund. Finally, they will draw 1 card and remove Labor Rights from the game.

  • Updated 2023-10-01

    If the Runner trashes Strike Fund with the interrupt ability on Patchwork, can they use the 2 from Strike Fund to pay the cost of the card they are playing or installing?

    Yes.

Reviews

Everything that D4v1d-Gr43b3r wrote still hold true. But there are other nice uses for this.

First, it is a piece of economy that do not require a run. This is important, if you play a runner deck that is more "control" than agressive. Within the anarch economy, it is better than Wildcat Strike, since it does not give a choice to the corp.

I would like to add to D4v1d-Gr43b3r excellent review that Strike Fund synergize also with Tsakhia "Bankhar" Gantulga. When facechecking an ice and trashing cards because of Tsakhia "Bankhar" Gantulga, you get +2 in the process, allowing to more easily break the next ice.

Another piece of anarch tech that synergize it Patchwork. This is intense, as you get to install a card for -2 and get +2, probably making the whole thing credit positive.

For criminal, there is not much use for this card, since they have No Free Lunch that give the same +3 for a click.

But for shapers, this is better, since it synergize with Aniccam, to give +3 and +1 draw, for 1 influence. That is a fairly good value for a card.

In any deck, it help that you would get some credits from taking damage (for example, by triggering an Snare!). Instead of losing cards, you also gain +2. A nice compensation.

The hard is nice, and with the coming of Rebellion without rehersal, I think the person talking to the lady is Sebastião Souza Pessoa: Activist Organizer. Putting a hard hat on the lady, but the lady still wears a skirt, probably means that the lady is supposed to be some kind of engineer or manager. The art, like the flavor and the effect, completely synergize with the name of the card. Good job.

(The Automata Initiative era)
3941

Strike Fund is the “trashable Easy Mark”, as Steelskin Scarring is the “trashable Diesel”.

Unlike Steelskin Scarring, Strike Fund won't save you from a flatline; but it will increase the density of “trashables” in your anarch deck.


Note that is trashed from your grip or stack WILL trigger off:

  • both grip-trashing (eg. Moshing) and stack-trashing (eg. The Price)
  • from both your own (eg. cybernetic’s) and the Corp's cards (eg. AP’s).
  • both damage and non-damage effects (like “coercion”, eg. Vera Ivanovna Shuyskaya)

However, it WON'T trigger off:

  • non-trashing grip-disruption effects (like “tucking”, eg. Daniela Jorge Inácio)
  • discarding to your maximum hand size (discard and trash from grip are distinct in Netrunner).

Flavor: It's "anarch(ist)s striking", like Wildcat Strike; a strike fund being how striking workers pay for rent, meds, et cetera.


Synergies:

  • “discard”:

    • Moshing (whose discard is non-random), which earns +$5(!) from $0 if you trash a SF (as it draws “5 card” if you trash an SS) and +$9 if you can trash three.
    • Audrey v2’s grip-trashing is non-random (like Moshing), repeatable (like Zer0), unlimited/unrestricted, and clickless.
    • Ghosttongue synergizes both with its cybernetic cost (if you trash a Fund) and with its economic effect (you can play Funds as Sure Gamble’s and from bankruptcy).
  • “mill”:

    • If The Price bins a Fund (in the top four) and hits a ≥$3-to-install (ignoring events anyways), it nets you +$4 (as well as the install).
    • Labor Rights can bin a Fund (in the top three), and even shuffle it back to bin again (lol).
  • “event-only econ”:

(Also Zer0? If you luck out (or even sculpt small/dense hands), you've clicked for 2 cards and $3. [Patchwork](/en/card/25009 If you trash a Fund, it's a clickless $4. Carnivore? If you trash a Fund to “imp” a ≥$3-to-trash card.)


(The Automata Initiative era)