Why go to an Early Premiere when you can get Jeeves to do so for you?

Seriously; everything one of these could do, Jeeves can do better... way better.

This does at least have the edge case benefit of stacking up to 3 times, to allow you to score a Global Food or a Vanity Project from unadvanced, though with the number of ways to score a Global Food from hand with Jeeves, I'm not sure why you would want to, unless there ends up being a card that allows you to install an agenda at the start of your turn that doesn't cost you an arm and a leg for influence.

252
Pretty sure this doens't work - Early Premiere is an 'at start of turn' ability that doesn't cost a click - so you can only do it once, and it doesn't interact with Jeeves at all. —
I am pointing out that what Early Premiere does (that is, advancing an installed card an extra time) Jeeves does better, not that they interact together. —
Ah, I see - my apologies —
Jeeves is unique, whereas if you have multiple Premiers down, you could theoretically never-advance agendas up to the level of Vanity Project/Mandatory Upgrades. Max jank: add 3x Biotic Labor (or 2x plus 1x Jeeves) for Government Takeover. —

Something to know about this before going ham with the combos, is how this interacts with other cards, and why.

The first thing to know, which I had needed to get clarification for, is that "the order the conditions are written on the card matters", which is to say, "If A when B then C" is not the same as "When B then C if A"

Specifically, if it's written "If A when B then C" then the ability does not resolve when B happens if A is not true, meaning any effect that changes A during resolution of triggers for B is too late, whereas if it's written "When B then C if A" then A is checked at time of resolution.

So, at this point you are probably thinking "Get to the point already!", so here you go:

Casting Call does not work with Quantum Predictive Model, as the "If" is checked before Casting Call tags the runner. This is specifically mentioned in the FAQ

It is also worth noting the interactions with Film Critic and Maya as well.

  • On the runner's turn Film Critic can host QPM first, as the runner's abilities resolve first on their turn, invalidating the access trigger, nullifying the other on access abilities.

  • Maya has the different trigger of "After you access a card", so it will always resolve after QPM, however, Maya can still bottom the card, even if it's no longer in R&D, so if the runner accesses it, while tagged, you add it to your score area, then Maya can add it to the bottom of R&D, assuming you havn't won off the point.

Note: I have re-written this review from it's original state, as I was incorrect about why it interacted the way it did with Casting Call, meaning I incorrectly assessed it's interaction with Film Critic, hence the first four comments saying that this is incorrect.

252
I disagree vehemently. —
I also disagree. For multiple reasons. —
Sorry for double post, this site's formatting and inability to edit comments is a mystery to me sometimes. This interaction does not function that way. For starters, this ability is not a constant ability. It's an "If" conditional. —
That's not correct. The scoring-if-tagged of QPM and host-on-access are both abilities that resolve in the same step of the TSR. Unless NBN has lost its mind and imported Offer You Can't Refuse, Film Critic has the option to host it due to turn priority. If there's a ruling that states otherwise, please share. —
Sorry about the mistake about how QPM works, particularly with regards to it's interaction with Film Critic, I have completely re-written the review, correcting the interactions, and reasoning. Sorry for the inconvenience! —

So the key thing you need to ask yourself when you are deciding whether this is the ice for your deck is "how many times do I expect the runner to break this?" and "Where would I install this?".

After being broken 5 times, Quicksand costs 1 credit more than Wall of Static would have, at 11 to 10

After being broken 9 times, Quicksand costs 1 credit more than Eli 1.0 would have, at 37 to 36

(The costs above were determined for breaking with Corroder)

Of course, where this should be installed is also an interesting question, the most obvious answer is R&D if you tend to lose due to R&D Lock, or to a lesser extent R&D Digging, but it may also be good installed elsewhere, for example, against Gabe it may be a very good idea to plant one of these on HQ, and archives to make his Sneakdoor Shenanigans less effective.

The other thing is that if you can somehow cause the runner to encounter Quicksand more than once per run (Cough Mumbad Cough) then Quicksand could become very taxing very quickly, Assuming it doesn't get Parasited or Knifed immediately of course, and Quetzal just laughs in it's face.

252
I'm not sure that the economic comparison with Eli 1.0 is entirely fair. After all Eli 1.0 is somewhat porous and can be clicked through, whereas Quicksand requires a breaker. This makes a big difference if you are using it to protect a central and they play a run event like Account Siphon, Vamp or Maker's Eye - it even matters if you are installing an agenda behind it in a remote —
I'm not claiming that the comparison to Eli 1.0 is entirely fair, I was fully aware of that, but felt it was a valuable comparison to make anyway. —

Ok, so Akitaro Watanabe is clearly an Economy card, and as such, how much money he makes/saves you must be compared to the output of other cards that you might play instead of him.

1 Ice Rezzed: +1, but since it cost a to install, you might as well have clicked for a credit.

2 Ice Rezzed: +3, like a Beanstalk Royalties that requires an extra credit to fire.

3 Ice Rezzed: +5, now installing him is comparable to a Restructure, that has the cost to play spread out over the ice you've rezzed.

4 Ice Rezzed: +7, this is starting to get ridiculous, but at this point you must have spent 6 just installing ice protecting this server, which must be considered.

On top of the comparison to economy operations, you must of course consider that the runner may choose to trash him, which though it may stop you from lowering the cost of more ice, the cost to the runner must be accounted for as well.

Unfortunately, as optimistic as the above analysis might start looking, you have to consider that he is only really that useful if drawn early in the game, before you've rezzed most of your ice, whereas economy operations can still be useful as the game progresses. Furthermore, if you have a full 3 copies in your deck, to ensure that you draw him early; then the other copies in your deck that are drawn late, are still effectively useless.

Though in theory Akitaro Watanabe could save you quite a lot of credits, he is difficult to make good use of.

Perhaps once there are enough good Sysops for Jinteki's Recruiting Trip to be useful, Akitaro will have his day, but until then, you're probably better off with a PAD Campaign, or perhaps even a Medical Research Fundraiser.

252
The only ICE that currently has a real synergy with him is Chimera. (And Cell Portal, but it's nearly unplayable.) Rezzing _the same_ ICE over and over again for reduced rez costs saves you money without adding absurd install costs. Still, it's not enough to really build for it. —
This is nice to have if you play against Nasir a lot I imagine. Plays nice with Amazon Industrial Grid if you have really really high cost ice. Pairs well with with Eden Fragment. —
Your math is off with 4 ICE rezzed. The install costs total to 6, not 10. The 4th ICE is 3 credits. —
The Chimera combo is surprisingly robust early in the game. It can make for a cheap, safe early remote against most Runners, which can be used to leverage economy assets or score some quick points. That said, this is only a good idea if you're ALSO going deep on single server ICE, because having him be useless later in the game isn't worth the deck slot. —

Though interesting; this ice falls flat on it's face once the Runner reads it and realises they are better off only breaking the first subroutine; rendering the second one a risk or a credit drain for the Corp; especially if the runner has R&D interfaces for their multi-access.

Reasonable but not amazing when the runner can't break it; a mere 4-5 credit tax and a credit drain at best once they can.

This ICE should either have been strength 7 to counterbalance the credit drain, or the first subroutine should have been an on-encounter ability; heck, it would be better if it simply didn't have that second subroutine, or better yet, if it was pay to force the access instead of pay to prevent!

252
Does a 5 credit tax for 6 credits really qualify as "falling flat on its face"? I think a brief look at most other ICE would reveal that statement doesn't make any sense. And how would the ICE be better without the second subroutine? It gives the corp more control. You can run them into a trap, or a card you don't mind them seeing. And if all 3 cards are agendas or assets you don't want being touched, you can CHOOSE to effectively end the run. These are all good things... —
I think what he's trying to say is that if the runner can break the first subroutine, then the Corp must pay 1 additional credit every time they encounter the ice so they don't get to access a random card off RnD. So in addition to the 6 to rez it's 1 to keep the Runner from accessing more cards then they should. Admittedly against Jinteki random accesses of RnD are dangerous but there's definitely a possibility of them pulling agendas they shouldn't have. —
If this is the inside ice on R&D then why would the corp need to pay 1 as the Runner will be achieving the access in the first place. —