Light the Fire!

Light the Fire! 1[credit]

Resource: Sabotage
Influence: ●●○○○

click, trash, suffer 1 core damage: Run a remote server. During that run, cards in the root of the attacked server lose all abilities. When that run is successful, trash all cards in the root of the attacked server.

A single spark is all that it takes to destroy billions of credits... or to burn away the rot that ravages our world.
Illustrated by Olie Boldador
Decklists with this card

Midnight Sun (ms)

#9 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
Rulings
  • What happens to agendas during a run made with Light the Fire!?

    Any agenda in the root of the attacked server is trashed along with any other cards in that root. There will be no cards of any type left in the root to access when the Runner breaches the attacked server.

  • Does Aumakua gain a virus counter when successfully running a server with Light the Fire!?

    As long as the server is protected by ice, yes. You still breach the server when using Light the Fire!, unless the server itself ceases to exist. Usually, there will be no cards to access during that breach, but Aumakua’s trigger condition is still met.

  • Can the Runner gain credits from Security Testing and trash the cards due to Light the Fire!?

    Yes, you still breach the server when using Light the Fire!. You can combine the breach replacement effect and the Light the Fire! trash effect.

  • If the Runner uses Light the Fire! to run a server that has a Full Immersion RecStudio in the root, hosting two cards, do the hosted cards lose their abilities? What happens to the hosted cards once Full Immersion RecStudio is trashed?

    Cards hosted on Full Immersion RecStudio are in the root of the server, and lose their abilities. All cards in the root of the attacked server, including the hosted cards, will be trashed by Light the Fire!.

  • If the attacked server changes to a central server during a run made with Light the Fire!, what happens?

    When the run is declared successful, the Runner will trash all upgrades in the root of the new attacked server. They will breach and access cards in the server’s corresponding zone normally.

  • How does Light the Fire! affect a remote server with an advanced NGO Front?

    Once the Runner triggers Light the Fire!’s ability, there is no opportunity for the Corp to use NGO Front before the ability begins to resolve. If the run is made against the server with NGO Front in its root, the Corp will not be able to use that NGO Front until after the run ends, and then only if it is still installed. However, the Corp does have the opportunity to use NGO Front in the paid ability window before the Runner takes the action on Light the Fire!. The Runner cannot use Light the Fire! immediately after installing it without giving the Corp an opportunity to trigger paid abilities.

Reviews

So this is another way to write Stimhack, a classic old card. Now we have 2 options. This one and Overclock.

Stimhack had a fit as a 1 of to do that run where you're in late game and you know that's the winning agenda and gives you 9 . Also found a place in shaper decks because those 9 bucks cans be used to install stuff mid-run with Self-modifying Code (SMC).

So for those shaper uses they made Overclock, just 4 credits asking just for 1 to trash whatever you need to trash, have a little push in that run or use SMC if you're a shaper. No brain damage so it's less money and more accessibility so you cans put it in System Gateway.

But there was a part that was missing. Something impactful with the brain damage. There was something cool about self-inflicting damage. Something very anarch. As the Joker said in the AI generated script for a Batman movie "You drink water. I drink anarchy". And there is few ways better than drinking anarchy that some self brain damage.

So instead of a event it's a resource. So instead of 0 and 1 you will need 1 and 2 that you can divide in 2 diferent turns if you want to telegraph the corp "this is the deal, what are you going to do about it". What gives you in exchange? Depending on the board state.

This cards counters some stuff like Anoetic Void, Manegarm Skunkworks, Prisec and the advancements of City Works Project. So the main idea is to get a server full of stuff out. That trap? on the archives. That region that costs 5 to destroy? see ya.

Remember that this trashing happens before you access the cards so if there is any facedown agenda you'll need to go to archives to retrieve it. And some agendas abilities still happen there. Agendas like Obokata Protocol, Bellona, Send a Message to mention a few. Also agendas can be retrieved using Spin Doctor so I recommend to take any pesky doctor before using this.

And for the corp, how to counter it? Apart that from your ice you still have abilities such as Earth Station: SEA Headquarters. For other hard end the run effects... you still have Border Control or Nisei MK II that can prevent for that all thrashing.

Also: remember that the brain damage cannot be prevented (by Heartbeat for example) because it's a cost. If the cost doesn't happen then the effect doesn't happen. (it's like when you cannot prevent the net damage if you decide as a runner to steal Obokata Protocol)

Great card!

(System Update 2021 era)

I wonder if Lucky Charm will see some life to counter the counters to this card.

That would be cool!

Great value against upgrades, high-trash cost assets, and traps. Trashing a Manegarm normally costs $8, accessing Ganked can be catastrophic, and Anoetic Void can completely shut down some key lines of play, and a lot of grids are costly to trash. Performance Design might have a Manegarm and a Tranquility Grid out on turn 1-2, and if you're not Lighting a Fire Up in This Piece it'll be $12 to trash (plus any ice-breaking) against $3 to rez. You're a punk rocker working at a MegaBuy in Communist Russia, nobody has $12 on turn 2, just grab a molotov and hopefully you'll get there before the Border Control does.

Moderate value against defensive agendas. Trashing a City Works Project makes it much easier to steal. Trashing an Obokata or Bellona at least prevents the Corp from scoring it.

Very good value in reducing uncertainty. Peace of mind against NGO Front, Snare!, Ganked, and Neurospike setups.

Problem: in the PD matchups where this card is probably the most needed, the Border Controls they're already running are a hard counter. If you give up a $1 Light the Fire and a brain damage and they give up a $4 Border Control, they're probably coming out ahead on the exchange.

(System Update 2021 era)