Event: Run • Cost: 1 • Influence: 1

While you are resolving this event, each player's identity loses all abilities.

Run any server. When that run ends, you may shuffle this event into your stack.

Get into the ducts on the roof and keep crawling till you hit that old network root. Dirty work, I know, but it beats playing by the rules.
Neutral • Olie Boldador • Downfall 28
All sets:
Links: Decklists | ANCUR
Direct Access
MWL Entries

No MWL Entries for this card.

Rulings
  • NISEI Downfall Release Notes [NISEI Rules Team]

    Playing against Replicating Perfection, can the Runner use Direct Access to run on a remote server if they have not run on any central servers yet that turn?

    Yes. The identities lose their abilities as soon as Direct Access becomes active, before the run begins and the attacked server is declared.

    Playing as Apex, can the Runner use DaVinci to install a non-virtual resource during a Direct Access run?

    Yes.

    If the Corp most recently named “event” with Azmari EdTech, does the Corp gain 2 when the Runner plays Direct Access?

    No. Direct Access becomes active at step 8.6.4 of playing an event, causing Azmari to lose its abilities before it would meet its trigger condition at step 8.6.5.

    Does the Runner gain 1 from Ken Tenma when they play Direct Access?

    No. Direct Access becomes active at step 8.6.4 of playing an event, causing Ken to lose his abilities before he would meet his trigger condition at step 8.6.5.

    Can Skorpios Defense Systems remove Direct Access from the game?

    If the Runner chooses to shuffle Direct Access into their stack, then it is never trashed and thus Skorpios never has a chance to act on it. If the Runner does not choose to shuffle Direct Access into their stack, then it is trashed after the run completes and the effects are fully resolved, so Skorpios has its abilities again and may remove Direct Access from the game.

    If the only successful run the Runner makes on their turn is a Direct Access run, does Tennin Institute get to place an advancement token on a card?

    No. Tennin checks the Runner’s previous turn when the Corp’s turn begins. It does not need to have its ability when the successful run happens.

Reviews

This card appears to be overpowered.

Turning off the runner ability is not going to bother most runners.

Turning off the corp ability will enable safer accesses and agenda steals.

This is another 3+ copies of Employee Strike without being on the MWL.

Maybe this is a knee jerk reaction, but I think this card should not exist.

(System Core 2019 era)
This hammers a few Corps very hard: Mti, AgInfusion, maybe even Argus. But to others, this is waaaaay different than EStrike. —
"2019 MWL: Announced 22 April 2019, Effective 3 May 2019" it's hurts mostly op corps, and it's perhaps with ES and Film Critic removal on next MWL in mind. —
FC for Whistleblower —
Not really. NO, absolutely not. If you are running Mti or AgInfusion, just use their ability after Direct Access run. Just block them with border, batty, nisei, etc. than use your ability as nothing happened. —
This card gives you E Strike for 1 run in exchange for: —
>_< Anyway, this card blanks the Corp's ID for one run and cannot be combined with other events (such as Stimhack, Maker's Eye, Diversion, etc). It's a very tame implementation of E Strike, and I think it'll be hard to slot them. —
Good to see this sparked a little conversation. I'm still not convinced. I shall see once I start playing with it. —
Does this event remove the Runner's link? It's very odd that it uses the strange wording 'loses all abilities'; how does that differ from the standard 'identity text box is blank'? —
We'll have to wait until the update to the NISEI Rules Document is released to find out. That should be next week. —
This hurts Haarpischord Studios a lot. :( —
Now that MWL 3.2 has thankfully axed ES, this card is the best answer to corp IDs that punish you for running. It'll be interesting to see how much play this'll see now. Even though Mti has also been shown the door, there are still plenty of IDs which are hurt by this card and its self-recursion means slotting just one or two should be enough. The inf cost is a pain though. ES also cost an inf but was much stronger so it'll be harder to justify using one up to slot this. —