Brân 1.0

Brân 1.0 6[credit]

Ice: Barrier - Bioroid
Strength: 6
Influence: 2

Lose [click]: Break 1 subroutine on this ice. Only the Runner can use this ability.

[subroutine] You may install 1 piece of ice from HQ or Archives directly inward from this ice, ignoring all costs.

[subroutine] End the run.

[subroutine] End the run.

A giant wakes…
Illustrated by Galen Dara
Decklists with this card

System Gateway (sg)

#39 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
Rulings
  • Updated 2021-10-10

    When the Corp installs ice with the first subroutine on Brân 1.0, can they trash other ice? Can they trash Brân 1.0 itself? What happens if they do?

    Yes, the procedure for installing ice is followed normally, except for the destination position being behind Brân 1.0 instead of the outermost position. However, the relative position of each piece of ice protecting the server is established before any cards are trashed. If Brân 1.0 is trashed, the encounter will end as soon as the install effect is complete, no more of its subroutines will resolve, and the Runner’s next position will correspond to the newly-installed ice.

  • Updated 2021-10-10

    Does the Corp have to pay to rez ice installed with Brân 1.0?

    Yes. The “ignoring all costs” clause only applies while the ice is being installed, not when it is later approached and rezzed.

Reviews

riverrun, past Eve and Adam’s, from swerve of shore to bend of bay, brings us by a commodius vicus of recirculation back to Howth Castle and Environs. Sir Tristram, violer d’amores, fr’over the short sea, had passen-core rearrived from North Armorica on this side the scraggy isthmus of Europe Minor to wielderfight his penisolate war: nor had topsawyer’s rocks by the stream Oconee exaggerated themselse to Laurens County’s gorgios while they went doublin their mumper all the time: nor avoice from afire bellowsed mishe mishe to tauftauf thuartpeatrick not yet, though venissoon after, had a kidscad buttended a bland old isaac: not yet, though all’s fair in vanessy, were sosie sesthers wroth with twone nathandjoe. Rot a peck of pa’s malt had Jhem or Shen brewed by arclight and rory end to the regginbrow was to be seen ringsome on the aquaface. The fall (bababadalgharaghtakamminarronnkonnbronntonner-ronntuonnthunntrovarrhounawnskawntoohoohoordenenthur — nuk!)of a once wallstrait oldparr is retaled early in bed and later on life down through all christian minstrelsy. The great fall of the offwall entailed at such short notice the pftjschute of Finnegan, erse solid man, that the humptyhillhead of humself prumptly sends an unquiring one well to the west in quest of his tumptytumtoes: and their upturnpikepointandplace is at the knock out in the park where oranges have been laid to rust upon the green since dev-linsfirst loved livvy. Click one is my Hyperdri

(Parhelion era)
1125

I once saw someone running a seven-tier nested daemon tree. Not for any good reason, just to see if he could.

this is my favourite review on the site

The first subroutine on this ice is so fitting for Haas-Bioroid: Precision Design and Haas-Bioroid in general. At 2 influence, it is worth to splash it out of faction if you want a strong barrier. Like all bioroid ice, this has a great cost to strenght ratio, on top of that, having 3 subroutines will make Boomerang users spend a click.

Because of the first subroutine, it encourage you to keep an ice in hand (a good practice when you are against Anarch players). Trying to click through and letting the first subroutine fire could result in a surprise ice being installed at the innermost position, possibly preventing the runner from passing.

The quote reflect the strenght of the ice. At 6 strenght, it will cost 5 for an unaided Paperclip to pass. And using Cleaver will need a lot of help (spending at least 2 tokens from Leech) to break it for 2.

The art is nice and evocative. This barrier will see play in many decks, it is in the top best barrier in the game.

(System Update 2021 era)
4023

Silly question from a new player - does a runner still have to get an icebreaker up to strength to interact with these pieces of HB ice and use the "Lose 1 click to break a subroutine"?" ability?

@cockbongo: Getting an icebreaker up to strength is only needed to use abilities on the icebreaker that interact with ICE (on more recently printed cards, abilities that need a strength match to work are marked with the word "interface" to make it clear which abilities have this restriction, although on older cards you have to look at the wording). If an ability isn't on an icebreaker, there's no need for a strength match. So you can use Brân's ability to break subroutines by losing clicks even without a matching icebreaker (because Brân is a barrier and bioroid, not an icebreaker).